This is the "Books" page of the "Anthropology and Archaeology" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
A LIFETIME OF LEARNING OPPORTUNITIES                   Apply | MyACC User verification is required | Make a Gift | Contact Us

Locations: Queensbury | Saratoga County | Online Distance Learning
Admin Sign In 

Anthropology and Archaeology 

Find the best research sources here!
Last update: Jul 16th, 2010 URL: http://libguides.sunyacc.edu/anthropology  Print/Mobile Guide   RSS Updates ShareThis

Books            Print/Mobile Page
  
 

Online catalog subjects

Welcome to the SUNY Adirondack Library's research guide on Anthropology and Archaeology!

The subjects below work well to find books in the SUNY Adirondack Library. You can copy and paste these subjects into the Book Catalog link above to find items in this library.

Excavations (Archaeology)
Underwater archaeology
Shipwrecks
Geography
Manners and customs
North America antiquities
Archaeology maps
Rock paintings
Bones
Archaeologists
Physical anthropology    
Cultural anthropology    
Anthropology    
Ethnology    
Petroglyphs
Indians of North America
Egypt antiquities
Human beings -- Migrations
Human population genetics


To find books on two overlapping topics, use the word and, with keyword search mode: “Middle East and antiquities,” for instance. This technique is called Boolean logic.

To find videos, select Advanced Search and limit your search by collection to Media-Videotape or Media-DVD.

 

Finding Books

Need more? See this page: Finding Books.

 

Electronic Books

NetLibrary is a small collection of about 5000 full-text, electronic books. You may view the chapters of the books online. Books range from classic novels to recent books on technology and include reference books. ACC students, faculty and staff may search this from off-campus.

Project Gutenberg is the oldest producer of free electronic books on the Internet. This collection contains more than 15,000 eBooks. Most are older literary works that are in the public domain in the United States. All may be freely downloaded, read and redistributed for non-commercial use.

LibriVox  offers free audio books downloadable to your IPod. Books are classic novels, etc. that are in public domain; books are read by volunteers.

 
 

SUNY Adirondack Library Reference Books

Find these books on the main floor of the SUNY Adirondack Library. They cannot be borrowed, but are always in the library to use.

Concise Oxford Dictionary of Archaeology
Ref. CC 70 .D37 2002

World Encyclopedia of Archaeology    
Ref. CC 70 .W68 2007

Archaeological Method and Theory
Ref. CC 75 .A654 2000

Encyclopedia of Historical Archaeology
Ref. CC 77 .H5 .E53 2002

Encyclopedia of Archaeology: The Great Archaeologists
Ref. CC 110 .E54 1999

Medieval Archaeology: an Encyclopedia
Ref. D 125 .M42 2001

Archaeological Encyclopedia of the Holy Land
Ref. DS 111 .A2 A73 2001

Lands and Peoples (vol. 1-6 plus index)
Ref. G 133 .L3 1997

World Atlas of Archaeology
Ref. G 1046 .E15 W6 1985

Atlas of the Valley of the Kings    
Ref. G 2492 .V3 A8 2003

History of Physical Anthropology (vol. 1-2)
Ref. GN 50 .3 .H57 1997

Forensic Anthropology Training Manual
Ref. GN 69.8 .B87 1999

Encyclopedia of Human Evolution and Prehistory
Ref. GN 281 .E53 2000 

The Dictionary of Anthropology
Ref. GN 307 .D48 1997

Encyclopedia of Cultural Anthropology (vol. 1-4)
Ref. GN 307 .E52 1996

Encyclopedia of Social and Cultural Anthropology
Ref. GN 307 .E527 1996

Worldmark Encyclopedia of Cultures & Daily Life    
Ref. GN 333 .W67 1998

Atlas of Human Migration    
Ref. GN 370 .A85 2007

Cambridge Encyclopedia of Hunters & Gatherers
Ref. GN 388 .C35 2004

 
Description

Loading  Loading content... please wait