This is the "Books & Web Sites for Ideas" page of the "ENG101: Biographies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
A LIFETIME OF LEARNING OPPORTUNITIES                   Apply | MyACC User verification is required | Make a Gift | Contact Us

Locations: Queensbury | Saratoga County | Online Distance Learning
Admin Sign In 

ENG101: Biographies 

Click here for biographical and historical sources!
Last update: Jun 25th, 2010 URL: http://libguides.sunyacc.edu/biographies  Print/Mobile Guide   RSS Updates ShareThis

Books & Web Sites for Ideas         Print/Mobile Page
  
 

Online Reference Books

These databases include encyclopedia chapters, statistical data and more. You can use these for ideas, and use the information in your paper. (Follow log in directions if you're searching from off-campus.)

Gale Virtual Reference Library
Good place to start for most research topics. Searches 500 full-text encyclopedias and specialized reference sources on a wide variety of subjects. The Document Title search looks for your words in the books' chapter titles. (Note: reference books with a large blue "e" on the spine are full-text in this database.)

Credo Reference
More than 3 million reference book chapters from 500 titles from 60+ publishers; offers advanced search, concept map for visual searching. Good for overviews of subjects.

For more, see: Books Online.

 

Online catalog subjects

Search for books with the Book Catalog link above, using terms like these:

  • biography (limit your search to "Subject" for best resuilts)
  • biography and musicians (or try: biography and authors, or biography and [another subject], etc.)
  • a notable person's name: Castro, Darwin, Lincoln, etc.
  • "Very Short Introduction" and biography (This leads to a series of books about various people. Browse through results! You can borrow these. They're located along the back of the reference desk.)
  • Also see other SUNY Adirondack Library web pages under the Browse by Subject column: Musicians, Art & Artists, Literature & Writers, World History, American History, etc.
 

Electronic Books

NetLibrary is a small collection of about 5000 full-text, electronic books. You may view the chapters of the books online. Books range from classic novels to recent books on technology and include reference books. ACC students, faculty and staff may search this from off-campus.

Project Gutenberg is the oldest producer of free electronic books on the Internet. This collection contains more than 15,000 eBooks. Most are older literary works that are in the public domain in the United States. All may be freely downloaded, read and redistributed for non-commercial use.

LibriVox  offers free audio books downloadable to your IPod. Books are classic novels, etc. that are in public domain; books are read by volunteers.

 
 

Need Ideas?

For ideas, try these Web sites or browse through the reference books. Use these only for ideas - the quality of these links varies!

Remember: Use book and article databases
for your actual research!

 

Reference Books

Find these books on the main floor of the ACC Library. They cannot be borrowed, but are always in the library to use. Here are two bvery useful books:

  • Dictionary of world biography    Ref. CT104 .D54
  • Current biography yearbook    Ref. CT100 .C8 (1940-on)


Visit the reference collection to see these reference books!:

  • Dictionary of American biography     Ref. E 176 .D563 Index VOL.1-20
  • The dictionary of national biography      Ref. DA 28 .D42 VOL.1
  • Dictionary of Canadian biography.      Ref. F 1005 .D5 VOL.1
  • Dictionary of American portraits       Ref. N 7593 .C53
  • Signers of the Declaration     Ref. E221 .U78 1974
  • Notable American women, 1607-1950: a biographical dictionary       Ref. CT3260 .N57 VOL.1
  • Who’s who in the Middle Ages     Ref. D115 .F5 1971
  • Biographical directory of the governors of the United States, 1789-1978       Ref. E176 .B573 VOL.1
  • The Dictionary of composers     Ref. ML105 .D53 1978
  • Great engineers and pioneers in technology       Ref. TA139 .G7 1981
  • The Oxford companion to twentieth-century art     Ref. N6490 .O94
  • Secretaries of war and secretaries of the army: portraits & biographical sketches     Ref. E176 .B42
  • Monarchs, rulers, dynasties, and kingdoms of the world     Ref. D107 .T36 1983
  • Biographical dictionary of Afro-American and African musicians       Ref. ML105 .S67 1982
  • Biographical dictionary of World War I     Ref. D507 .H47 1982
  • New York biographical dictionary    Ref. CT251 .N46 1996 VOL.II
  • Biographical directory of the United States Congress, 1774-1989        Ref. JK1010 .U5 1989
  • Women composers, conductors and musicians of the twentieth century: selected biographies       Ref. ML82 .L46 Vol.3
  • Who was who in world exploration       Ref. G200 .W24 1992
  • Rock movers & shakers       Ref. ML385 .R736 1991
  • Rock lives: profiles & interviews       Ref. ML385 .W37 1990        
  • Outstanding women athletes: who they are and how they influenced sports in America2       Ref. GV697.A1 W69 1992
  • The Presidency A to Z: a ready reference encyclopedia /      1992     Ref. JK511 .P775 1992
  • The Routledge dictionary of twentieth-century political thinkers     Ref. JA83 .R725 1992
  • The Supreme Court justices: illustrated biographies, 1789-1995       Ref. KF8744 .S86 1995
  • Leaders from the 1960s : a biographical sourcebook of American activism     Ref. Z7164.S66 L42 1994
  • Who’s who of Pulitzer Prize winners       Ref. AS911.P8 B74 1999
  • Biographical dictionary of psychology       Ref. BF109.A1 B56 1997
  • Biographical dictionary of twentieth-century philosophers     Ref. B104 .B56 1996
  • North American women artists of the twentieth century: a biographical dictionary       Ref. N6503 .N67 1995
  • The American presidents       Ref. E176.1 .A6563 2000
  • A biographical dictionary of the Baseball Hall of Fame      Ref. GV865.A1 S516 2000
  • The kings & queens of England       Ref. DA28.1 .K56 2001
  • George Washington: a biographical companion       Ref. E312 .G88 2002
  • The presidents: a reference history       Ref. E176.1 .P918 2002
  • Encyclopedia of the U.S. Supreme Court       Ref. KF8742 .A35 E53 2001
 
Description

Loading  Loading content... please wait