Starting Your Research
Welcome to the ACC Library's research guide for biology topics!
Use this guide to research topics for microbiology, zoology, animal behavior and marine science classes.
Microbiology Books:
Visit the library to use these reference books:
Bergey’s manual of determinative bacteriology
Call Number: Ref. QR 81 .A5 1994
ISBN/ISSN: 0683006037
Encyclopedia of microbiology
Call Number: Ref. QR 9 .E53 2000
ISBN/ISSN: 0122268008
Mandell, Douglas, and Bennett’s principles and practice of infectious diseases
Call Number: Ref. RC 111 .P78 2005
ISBN/ISSN: 0443066434
Good germs, bad germs: health and survival in a bacterial world
Call Number: QR 57 .S24 2007
ISBN/ISSN: 0809050633
Marine Science
Visit the library to use this reference book. To find more like it, search the online catalog with the phrases "marine sciences" or "marine biology".
Biology Reference Books at the ACC Library
Find these books on the main floor of the ACC Library. They cannot be borrowed, but are always in the library to use.
For Microbiology: (Microbiology call number is QR)
Encyclopedia of Microbiology (4 volumes)
REF. QR 9 .E53 2000
Bergey's Manual of Determinative Bacteriology
REF. QR 81 .A5 1994
Bergey's Manual of Systematic Bacteriology
REF. QR 81 .B46 1984, 2001-2005
Mandell, Douglas, and Bennett’s principles and practice of infectious diseases
REF. RC 111 .P78 2005
For Animal Behavior: (Zoology call number is QL)
Encyclopedia of Animal Behavior (vol. 1-3)
REF. QL 750.3 .E53 2004
Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia
(17 volumes; also in Gale Virtual Reference Library database)
REF. QL 7 .G7813 2003
Encyclopedia of Biodiversity (5 volumes)
REF. QH 541.15 .B56 E53 2001
Sibley Guide to Birds
REF. QL 681 .S497 2000
For Human Biology:
Gray’s Anatomy
REF. QM 23.2 .G73 1995
Encyclopedia of Human Biology (9 volumes)
REF. QP 11 .E53 1997
Encyclopedia of Stress (3 volumes)
REF. QP 82.2 .S8 .E53 2000
Encyclopedia of the Human Brain (4 volumes)
REF. QP 376 .E56 2002
Encyclopedia of Human Nutrition (3 volumes)
REF. QP 141 .E526 1999
General Biology Books:
McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology
REF. Q 121 .M3 2002 (20 vol.)
McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms
REF. Q 123 .M15 2003
Finding Books
Need more? See this page: Finding Books.
Online catalog subjects
Search for books with ACC Library's online catalog.
Subject headings like these work well to find books in the ACC Library:
Animal communication
Social behavior in animals
Zoology - North America
Bacteriology
Medical microbiology
Communicable diseases
Microbiology
Microorganisms
Ocean
Marine biology
Marine sciences
Water
Life - Origin
Evolution
Natural selection
Biological diversity
Wetland ecology
Animals - identification
Natural history
• You may also use the word “and” to combine two subjects in a search: birds and New York.
• Most college libraries, including the ACC Library, use the Library of Congress’ call number system, which use letters and then numbers as a code for a subject. Science books’ call numbers start with Q. Others to know:
QH - Natural history and biology
QR - Microbiology
QL - Zoology
Electronic Books
NetLibrary is a small collection of about 5000 full-text, electronic books. You may view the chapters of the books online. Books range from classic novels to recent books on technology and include reference books. ACC students, faculty and staff may search this from off-campus.
Project Gutenberg is the oldest producer of free electronic books on the Internet. This collection contains more than 15,000 eBooks. Most are older literary works that are in the public domain in the United States. All may be freely downloaded, read and redistributed for non-commercial use.
LibriVox offers free audio books downloadable to your IPod. Books are classic novels, etc. that are in public domain; books are read by volunteers.
Reference/Instruction Librarian |
- Reference & Instruction Librarian
- Professor of Library Science
- Liaison Librarian for Science, Business, Travel, Distance Learning, Plattsburgh
[Photo: Joyce in Kenya last summer, surrounded by elephants!]
(518) 743-2200
Send Email
Subjects:
Library Instruction, Science, Business, Travel, Distance Learning, Plattsburgh Liaison Librarian
Animal Behavior Books
Here are some books in the ACC Library you may find useful for your animal behavior research:
Encyclopedia of animal behavior
Call Number: Ref. QL 750.3 .E53 2004
ISBN/ISSN: 0313327459
Songs, roars, and rituals: communication in birds, mammals, and other animals
Call Number: QL 776 .R64 2000
ISBN/ISSN: 0674000587
The behavioural biology of dogs
Call Number: SF 433 .B44 2007
ISBN/ISSN: 1845931874
Dolphin mysteries: unlocking the secrets of communication
Call Number: QL 737.C432 D836 2008
ISBN/ISSN: 0300121121
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait