New Botany Books in the ACC Library
Welcome to the ACC Library's research guide for botany topics!
Here are some recenly purchased botany books:
The shrub identification book - Symonds, George
Call Number: QK 482 .S89 1963 (Reference and Circulating Copies)
ISBN/ISSN: 0688050409
The tree identification book - Symonds, George
Call Number: QK 482 .S9 2003 (Reference and Circulating Copies)
ISBN/ISSN: 0688050395
The Sibley guide to trees - Sibley, David
Call Number: QK 475 .S497 2009
ISBN/ISSN: 037541519X
Botany Books to Borrow
Among the botany books you may borrow are:
- Uncertain peril: genetic engineering and the future of seeds (S 494.5.B563 C86 2008)
- Seeds for the future: the impact of genetically modified crops on the environment (SB 123.57 .T494 2007)
- Genetically modified crops (SB 123.57 .H35 2003)
- Diseases of trees and shrubs (SB 762 .S56 2005)
- It's a long road to a tomato: Tales of an organic farmer ... (S 605.5 .S85 2006)
- Field guide to wild mushrooms of Pennsylvania and the Mid-Atlantic (QK 605.5.P4 R87 2006)
- Armitage’s native plants for North American gardens (SB 439.26.N7 A76 2006)
Need more? See Finding Books.
Electronic Books
NetLibrary is a small collection of about 5000 full-text, electronic books. You may view the chapters of the books online. Books range from classic novels to recent books on technology and include reference books. ACC students, faculty and staff may search this from off-campus.
Project Gutenberg is the oldest producer of free electronic books on the Internet. This collection contains more than 15,000 eBooks. Most are older literary works that are in the public domain in the United States. All may be freely downloaded, read and redistributed for non-commercial use.
LibriVox offers free audio books downloadable to your IPod. Books are classic novels, etc. that are in public domain; books are read by volunteers.
Botany Reference Books at the ACC Library
Find these books on the main floor of the ACC Library. They cannot be borrowed, but are always in the library to use.
The shrub identification book: the visual method for the practical identification of shrubs, including woody vines and ground covers (by George Symonds)
REF. QK 482 .S89 1963 (also a Circulating copy)
The tree identification book: a new method for the practical identification and recognition of trees (by George Symonds)
REF. QK 482 .S9 2003 (also a Circulating copy)
Encyclopedia of Biodiversity
REF. QH 541.15 .B56 E53 2001
Cambridge Illustrated Glossary of Botanical Terms
REF. QK 10 .H53 2000
The Penguin Dictionary of Plant Sciences
REF. QK 9 .P465 1999
Plant Identification Terminology : An Illustrated Glossary
REF. QK 9 .H37 1994
Food Plants of the World
REF. QK 98.5 A1 .V36 2005
Encyclopedia of Edible Plants of North America
REF. QK 98.5 .N57 C68 1998
Encyclopedia of Psychoactive Plants
REF. QK 99 .A1 .R2813 2005
A Modern Herbal (medicinal, culinary, folk-lore of plants, more)
REF. QK 99 .A1 G74 1982
Flora of North America (2 volumes)
REF. QK 110 .F55 1993
Field Guide to Trees and Shrubs (Peterson Field Guides)
REF. QK 110 .P47 1986
Newcomb’s Wildflower Guide
REF. QK 118 .N42
Weeds of the Northeast
REF. QK 118 .U93 1997
Wildflowers of Maine, New Hampshire, and Vermont In Color
REF. QK 164 .W56 2000
Manual of Vascular Plants of Northeastern United States...
REF. QK 117 .G49 1991
Mushrooms (Peterson Field Guides)
REF. QK 617 .L248 1998
Pharmacodynamic Basis of Herbal Medicine
REF. RM 666 .H33 E23 2002
PDR for Herbal Medicine
REF. RM 666 .H33 P37 2004
Encyclopedic Dictionary of Plant Breeding
REF. SB 123 .S32 2003
American Horticultural Society Encyclopedia of Plants and Flowers
REF. SB 403.2 .A438 2002
Armitage’s Manual of Annuals, Biennials, and Half-Hardy Perennials
REF. SB 422 .A66 2001
Hillier Gardener's Guide to Trees & Shrubs
REF. SB 435 .H54 1997
Encyclopedia of Planting Combinations
REF. SB 454.3 .C64 L67 2002
American Horticultural Society A-Z Encyclopedia of Garden Plants
REF. SB 403.2 .A45 1997
Pests and Diseases (by American Horticultural Society)
REF. SB 603.5 .G74 2000
Concise Encyclopedia of Plant Pathology
REF SB 728 .V525 2004
Forest Conservation Policy: A Reference Handbook
REF. SD 412 .S26 2004
Online catalog subjects
Subject headings like these work well to find books in the ACC Library. Copy and paste them into the Book Catalog link above!:
Trees
Woody plants
Wild flowers
Watermilfoil
Fruit
Aquatic plants
Medicinal plants
Plant ecology
Biological diversity
Botany
Freshwater algae
Endangered plants
Water pollution
Transgenic plants
Plant genetic engineering
- Use “and” to combine two subjects, such as: trees and New York.
- Use truncation to find various “wildcard” endings: herb* will retrieve herb, herbs, herbal, etc.
- Make sure to also see the Gardening research guide!
• Plant identification guides: The ACC Library owns many field guides: eastern U.S. trees, wild flowers, weeds of the Northeast, seeds, ferns, grasses, mushrooms and more. Search for terms such as “wild flowers” (note: it’s two words, not one!) , or a more precise search with truncation, such as “Wild flowers and identif* ”.
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait