This is the "Books" page of the "Children's Literature" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Newest Children's YA Titles
A LIFETIME OF LEARNING OPPORTUNITIES                   Apply | MyACC User verification is required | Make a Gift | Contact Us

Locations: Queensbury | Saratoga County | Online Distance Learning
Admin Sign In 

Children's Literature 

Start your children's literature research here!
Last update: Jul 21st, 2010 URL: http://libguides.sunyacc.edu/childrensliterature  Print/Mobile Guide   RSS Updates ShareThis

Books         Print/Mobile Page
  
 

Just Added to the Library:

  • Cover Art1001 children’s books you must read before you grow up - Eccleshare, Julia.
    Call Number: Ref. Z1037 .A252 2009
    ISBN/ISSN: 0789318768
  • Cover ArtGoing bovine - Bray, Libba.
    Call Number: PZ7.B738 Go 2009
    ISBN/ISSN: 0385904118
  • Cover ArtOnce A Mouse. - Brown, Marcia.
    Call Number: PZ8.2.B668 On
    ISBN/ISSN: 0689713436
  • Cover ArtDear zoo - Campbell, Rod
    Call Number: PZ7.C36 De 2007
    ISBN/ISSN: 0230015255
  • Cover ArtKing of the wind - Henry, Marguerite
    Call Number: PZ10.3.H43 Ki 1976
    ISBN/ISSN: 0027436292
  • Cover ArtRabbit Hill - Lawson, Robert
    Call Number: PZ10.3.L39 Rab 1977
    ISBN/ISSN: 014031010X
  • Cover ArtStrawberry Girl - Lenski, Lois
    Call Number: PZ7.L54 St 2005
    ISBN/ISSN: 0064405850
  • Cover ArtA Year Down Yonder - Peck, Richard
    Call Number: PZ7.P338 Yh 2002
    ISBN/ISSN: 0142300705
 
 

2010 Award Winners Are Here!

  • Cover ArtLion and the Mouse - Pinkney, Jerry
    ISBN/ISSN: 0316013560
    2010 Caldecott Winner
  • Cover ArtWhen You Reach Me
    ISBN/ISSN: 0385737424
    2010 Newbery Winner

Caldecott, Newbery, Printz Award Lists

 

Books By Our Own Peter Marino!

  • Cover ArtDough Boy - Marino, Peter
    ISBN/ISSN: 0823418731
  • Cover ArtMagic and Misery - Marino, Peter
    ISBN/ISSN: 0823421333
 

Online catalog subjects

Welcome to the SUNY Adirondack Library's research guide on Children's Literature.

Search for books with the Book Catalog link above. Do a subject search with headings like these to locate books in this library:

Juvenile fiction  or      Childrens stories

Juvenile literature   (includes nonfiction titles)

 Children's literature (to find books about using children's literature & topical lists of titles)

Childrens poetry

Also: To find the actual books by an author, type the last name first, and be sure to use the Author search type.

 

Gale Literary Reference Books

The Gale publishing company's paper indexes for the following titles are on the shelves with the reference works; the electronic index for the following publications is also located in the Literature Resource Center (SUNY Adirondack Library home page > Finding Articles > Subject Databases > Literature Resource Center).


Contemporary Authors
Ref Z 1224 .C58

Dictionary of Literary Biography
Ref PS 21 .D52 VOL.193

 
 

Children's Literature Reference Titles

For books about children's literature, use: "Children's literature - history and criticism." More books about the authors are on shelves near these books:

The Oxford Encyclopedia of Children's Literature
Ref. PN 1008.5 .O94 2006

The Children's Literature Dictionary
Ref. PN 1008.5 .L38 2002

Twentieth-Century Children's Writers
Ref. PN 1009.A1 T9 1995

Children's Books and Their Creators
Ref. PN 1009.A1 C54 1995

Characters in Children's Literature
Ref. PN 1009.A1 J66 1997

Major Authors And Illustrators For Children And Young Adults
Ref. PN 451 .M37 1998

Quotation Index To Children's Literature
Ref. PN 6081 .Q593 2001

The Continuum Encyclopedia Of Children's Literature
Ref. PN 1008.5 .C66 2001

The Cambridge Guide To Children's Books In English
Ref. PR 990 .C36 2001

100 Most Popular Picture Book Authors And Illustrators
Ref. PS 490 .M395 2000

Myths And Hero Tales : A Cross-Cultural Guide
Ref. BL 313 .H45 1997

The Storyteller's Sourcebook: A Subject, Title, And Motif Index
Ref. GR 74.6 .M3

A To Zoo : Subject Access To Children's Picture Books
Ref. Z 1037 .L71 2006

Children's Book Awards International, 1990 Through 2000
Ref. Z 1037.A2 S46 2002

Children's Literature : A Guide To Information Sources
Ref. Z 1037 .D35 1998

Best Books For Children: Preschool Through Grade 6
Ref. Z 1037 .B547 1998

Children's Book Awards Annual
Ref. Z 1037.A2 C54

Once Upon A Heroine : 450 Books For Girls To Love
Ref. Z 1037.A2 C54

The Newbery & Caldecott Medal Books, 1986-2000
Ref. Z 1037.A2 N492 2001

The Newbery Companion
Ref. Z 1037.A2 G55 2001

Children’s Books:  A Practical Guide to Selection
Ref. Z718.1 .V335 2007

Encyclopedia of folklore and literature
Ref. PN41 .E48 1998

The world through children’s books
Ref. Z1037 .W954 2002

Locating Children's Books Elsewhere:

We have a small collection of children's literature mainly in the PZ call number area. This collection includes Caldecott, Newbery and all the Printz (YA) Award winners.

In addition, consider visiting your local public library. Most have a large children's book collection. You are able to easily search the SALS (Southern Adirondack Lib.System) local public libraries site to locate and reserve books with your Crandall/SALS library card. The PIN is the last 4 digits of your phone # given when you signed up for the card. Click on the link below for that catalog as well as the catalogs of Capital District college libraries, New York State and SUNY libraries, and the Library of Congress in Washington DC for interlibrary loan purposes. Request interlibrary loan forms at the reference desk.

 
Description

Loading  Loading content... please wait