Books to Borrow
Welcome to the companies and stocks research guide!
You can borrow the books below! Jot down the call number and find the book on the library's second floor.
Too big to fail : the inside story of how Wall Street and Washington fought to save the financial system from crisis--and themselves - Andrew Ross Sorkin
Call Number: HC 106.83 .L5 2010
ISBN/ISSN: 0670021253
Outliers: the story of success - Gladwell, Malcolm
Call Number: BF 637.S8 G533 2008
ISBN/ISSN: 0316017922The big short : inside the doomsday machine - Michael Lewis
Call Number: HC 106.83 .L5 2010
ISBN/ISSN: 0393072231
The snowball: Warren Buffett and the business of life - Schroeder, Alice
Call Number: HG 172.B84 S37 2008
ISBN/ISSN: 0553805096
Panic: the story of modern financial insanity
Call Number: HB 3722 .P36 2009
ISBN/ISSN: 0393065146
Online catalog subjects
To find books in the SUNY Adirondack Library, copy and paste the subject headings below into the Book Catalog search box above.
Financial crises
Stock exchanges
Investments
Accounting
Finance
Marketing management
Stocks
Industrial management
Small business
Women in business
Entrepreneurship
Advertising
Business ethics
Reference Books
Reference books offer overviews: a history of a company, industry trends, contact information and background. These books are especially useful for choosing and researching a stock for the Stock Market Project assignment. Current company officers, industry trends and more are found in Hoover’s Online and other databases described later in this guide.
Hoover's Handbook of American Business
REF. HG 4057 .A21 H22 (annual) Also see Hoover’s Online database mentioned on Online Refernece.
Mergent’s Handbook of Common Stocks
REF. HG 4501 .M66 (4 issues a year)
Value Line Investment Survey
REF. HG 4501 .V26 (continual updates)
Morningstar Mutual Fund (book & Web site)
REF. HG 4530 .M664 (annual) Use the Web site to choose mutual funds for Stock Market Project.
These reference books will provide additional information. Note that several books are also available online through the tabs above.
Business Statistics of the United States (data also in FedStats database, on Online Reference tab)
REF. HC 101 .A13 (annual)
Value of a Dollar: Prices and incomes in the United States, 1860-2009
REF. HB 235.U6 V35 2009
Encyclopedia of Capitalism
REF. HB 501 .E558 2004
Handbook of U.S. Labor Statistics (data also in FedStats database, on Online Reference tab)
REF. HD 8051 .H36 (annual)
Encyclopedia of Business and Finance (also Gale Virtual Reference Library, on Online Reference tab)
REF. HF 1001 .E467 2001
NAICS Desk Reference (industry classification codes)
REF. HF 1041.5 .N35 2000
Keys to Reading an Annual Report
REF. HF 5681.B2 F773 1995
Almanac of Business & Industrial Financial Ratios (by Troy)
REF. HF 5681.R25 .A45 2001
Wall Street Words : An Essential A to Z Guide
REF. HG 4513 .S37 1997
The Ticker Symbol Book
REF. HG 4513.5 .T53 1997
Electronic Books
NetLibrary is a small collection of about 5000 full-text, electronic books. You may view the chapters of the books online. Books range from classic novels to recent books on technology and include reference books. ACC students, faculty and staff may search this from off-campus.
Project Gutenberg is the oldest producer of free electronic books on the Internet. This collection contains more than 15,000 eBooks. Most are older literary works that are in the public domain in the United States. All may be freely downloaded, read and redistributed for non-commercial use.
LibriVox offers free audio books downloadable to your IPod. Books are classic novels, etc. that are in public domain; books are read by volunteers.
Finding Books
Need more? See this page: Finding Books.
Description
Loading content... please wait


