This is the "Books Online" page of the "Finding Books" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
A LIFETIME OF LEARNING OPPORTUNITIES                   Apply | MyACC User verification is required | Make a Gift | Contact Us

Locations: Queensbury | Saratoga County | Online Distance Learning

Finding Books 

Locate a book in the SUNY Adirondack Library or elsewhere; search online reference books and more
Last update: Jul 26th, 2010 URL: http://libguides.sunyacc.edu/books  Print/Mobile Guide   RSS Updates ShareThis

Books Online         Print/Mobile Page
  

Reference Databases

For quick overviews of your research topic, start with these databases. They offer encyclopedia chapters, statistical data and more. Log in with your SUNY Adirondack username/password if requested:

  • CQ Researcher
    Explores a single "hot" issue in the news in depth each week. Website includes hundreds of issues back to 1991.
  • Credo Reference
    More than three million chapters from almost 500 reference books from 65 publishers; offers advanced search, concept map for visual searching. Good for overviews of subjects; nice graphics.
  • Facts on File: World News Digest
    U.S. and world news 1940-present. Reuter's news feed with two week archive. Other features include time lines, country profiles, issues in depth, finding a research topic. Ready reference links to information on elections, federal budgets, state laws, Dow Jones, world financial data, notable biographies, and more.
  • FedStats
    The gateway to statistics from over 100 U.S. Federal agencies.
  • Gale Virtual Reference Library
    Good place to start for most research topics. Searches 500 full-text reference sources on a wide variety of subjects; offers 1.2 million reference book chapters. The "Document Title" search will look for your words in the books' chapter titles. (Note: reference books with a large blue "e" on the spine are full-text in this database.)
  • Hoover's Online Premium
    Subscription Web site with basic information on companies and industries. Business database with stock prices and information on corporations. Useful for Stock Market Project. Handy new feature: Click "Build Custom Report."
  • Occupational Outlook Handbook
    Career information from the U.S. Department of Labor, updated each year.
 

Google Books Search Box

Google Books offers partial full-text for many books, and full-text for a small percentage of books.

Google Book Search
 

NetLibrary e-Book of the Month

 

Electronic Books

NetLibrary is a small collection of about 5000 full-text, electronic books. You may view the chapters of the books online. Books range from classic novels to recent books on technology and include reference books. ACC students, faculty and staff may search this from off-campus.

Project Gutenberg is the oldest producer of free electronic books on the Internet. This collection contains more than 15,000 eBooks. Most are older literary works that are in the public domain in the United States. All may be freely downloaded, read and redistributed for non-commercial use.

LibriVox  offers free audio books downloadable to your IPod. Books are classic novels, etc. that are in public domain; books are read by volunteers.

SUNY Press E-Book Collection is a collection of SUNY Press titles published between 2000 and 2006.  Use is restricted to SUNY students, faculty and staff. 

Free E-Books - This link from OnlineCourses.org lists many sites to download free books and book sections.

More Free E-Books - Site from digital book news site e-book.com.au of Australia, with many more downloadable books.

Book Talk Podcasts

You can download and listen to free books talks held at Cornell! They range in length from about 30 to 60 minutes each.

  • Mann Library Book Talk Podcasts
    From Cornell University's Mann Library: "You can download audio or video files of specific events listed below, or you can subscribe to the Podcast and automatically receive new files when they are loaded to the site."
 
Description

Loading  Loading content... please wait