Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
A LIFETIME OF LEARNING OPPORTUNITIES                   Apply | MyACC User verification is required | Make a Gift | Contact Us

Locations: Queensbury | Saratoga County | Online Distance Learning
Admin Sign In 

Finding Articles 

Links to 50+ article databases and lists journals available at ACC Library in print or electronic form
Last update: Nov 16th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.sunyacc.edu/articles  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Overview            Print Page
  
 

Finding Articles from Magazines, Journals or Newspapers

ACC Library subscribes to dozens of article databases. Search them by subject to find articles from thousands of journals, magazines and newspapers. Click on these tabs for more information:

General Databases tab above links to large general article databases listing millions of articles on a wide variety of subjects. Many offer some full-text articles. These databases are a good place to start most research.

Subject Databases tab above links to databases listing articles on specific subjects only: health, literature, business, science, etc.

Find Journals by Name tab allows you to search by a journal's title to see which databases offer the journal full-text. This is part of the Serials Solutions 360 Link service. It will also list if the ACC Library subscribes to the journal in print or microform.

Scholarly Journals tab above lists the types of periodicals and their characteristics. Review this page if your professor has asked you to use scholar or peer-reviewed journal articles in your research.

Articles from Other Libraries tab tells you how to obtain articles through interlibrary loan if needed.

Off-campus Access
tab shows how ACC students, faculty and staff may search databases from off-campus.

 

Magazines and Journals at ACC Library

Periodicals at ACC links to an alphabetical list of ACC Library's subscriptions.

Just search it by title see if the ACC Library subscribes to the journal,  magazine or newspaper.

It also lists what dates of each periodical the ACC Library owns, and in what format: paper, microfilm or microfiche.

 
 

Database Searching Tips

Database searching tips: To find variant endings to your search terms, consider truncating, or adding a wildcard ending, with an asterisk (*): searching for bird* finds citations with bird, birds, birding, etc. Use at least two search terms linked by "and" to search for both terms. Check the databases’ Help screens for more time-saving search tips, and view the ACC Library's Tutorials page on the tab above.

 

Finding Full-text Articles

Finding Articles Full-text: If an article is not available in full-text in the database you're searching, the library's "Serials Solutions 360 Link" software will try to find it for you. Just select "Find full-text" under the list of results to search across EBSCO, Wilson, Proquest, and Gale databases. Next, click the "Article" link if available. Otherwise, click "Journal" link if available, or ask for assistance at the Reference Desk. 360 Link may not deliver full-text if: 1) none of our databases index the journal, or 2) the journal was published very recently, e.g., within the past month.

Print Journals: The ACC Library subscribes to more than 300 magazines, scholarly journals and newspapers. You may browse through them on the main floor of the library. Library users may photocopy articles in paper format, and print microform articles on the reader/printers, at 10 cents a copy. Thousands of additional periodicals are available full-text through article databases.

 

"Finding Articles" Handout

Print this handout if you'd like. It describes types of journals, article databases, and more.

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait