This is the "Books" page of the "Criminal Justice" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
A LIFETIME OF LEARNING OPPORTUNITIES                   Apply | MyACC User verification is required | Make a Gift | Contact Us

Locations: Queensbury | Saratoga County | Online Distance Learning
Admin Sign In 

Criminal Justice 

Here are some resources for your criminal justice research!
Last update: Nov 05th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.sunyacc.edu/criminaljustice  Print/Mobile Guide  RSS Updates

Books             Print/Mobile Page
  
 

Criminal Justice Books to Borrow

  • Criminal justice (Opposing Viewpoints)
    Call Number: HV 9950 .C74 2009
    ISBN/ISSN: 0737741988
  • Crime control in America: what works? / John L. Worrall. - Worrall, John L.
    Call Number: HV 9950 .W67 2008
    ISBN/ISSN: 0205593399
 

Online catalog subjects

Welcome to the ACC Library's research guide for criminal justice topics!

Search for books with ACC Library's online catalog, using the search box above right.

Subject headings like these work well to find books in the ACC Library:

Criminal justice
Crime
Victims of crimes
Criminal justice, Administration of
Crime prevention
Gangs
Police administration
Women, Crimes against
Prisons
Police - United States
Police questioning
Confession (Law) -- United States
Racial profiling in law enforcement
Police shootings
Law enforcement -- United States
Criminal investigation
Criminal Statistics
Forensic sciences

You may also find some books listed in the catalog from ABC-CLIO publishers that are available full-text electronically, such as Equal Protection: Rights and Liberties under the Law and The Right to Bear Arms.

 

Finding Books

Need more? See this page: Finding Books.

 
 

Books in the ACC Library


Reference books, on the main floor, offer quick background information and overviews on subjects. Here are some examples:

Encyclopedia of Crime and Justice (vol. 1-4)
(Also online in Gale Virtual Reference Library; see below.)
REF. HV 6017 .E52 2002

Dictionary of Crime Terms
REF. HV 6017 .S54 2003

Handbook of Transnational Crime and Justice
REF. HV 6252 .H36 2005

Crime Classification Manual    
REF. HV 6253 .C75 2006

Environmental Crime: A Sourcebook
REF. HV 6403 .B87 2004

Encyclopedia of Terrorism
REF. HV 6431 .K883 2003

Encyclopedia of International Organized Crime
REF. HV 6441 .D48 2005

Organized Crime: From Trafficking to Terrorism
REF. HV 6441 .O745 2008

Encyclopedia of White-collar Crime
REF. HV 6768 .E65 2007

Ency. Of High-Tech Crime and Crime Fighting
REF. HV 6773 .N48 2004

Hate Crimes ("Library in a Book" series)
REF. HV 6773.52 .S768 2003

Atlas of Crime : Mapping the Criminal Landscape
REF. HV 6783 .A85 2000

Encyclopedia of Forensic Sciences (vol. 1-3)
REF. HV 8073 .E58 2000

Criminal Justice    
REF. HV 7411 .C75 2006

Encyclopedia of Police Science    
REF. HV 7901 .E53 2007

Encyclopedia of Forensic Science    
REF. HV 8073 B425 2004

FBI Encyclopedia
REF. HV 8144 .F43 .N48 2003

Encyclopedia of Juvenile Justice
REF. HV 9104 .E58 2003

Encyclopedia of the U.S. Supreme Court (vol. 1-3)
REF. KF 8742 .A35 E53 2001

Capital Punishment ("Library in a Book" series)    
REF. KF 9227 C2 .F53 2006

Substantive Criminal Law (vol.1-3)
REF. KF 9219 .L386 2003

A Summary of U.S. Supreme Court Decisions for the Criminal Justice Community
REF. KF 9614 .D458 2000

Criminal Procedure
REF. KF 9619 .L34 2007

Search and Seizure: A Treatise on the Fourth Amendment   (vol. 1-6)
REF. KF 9630 .L26 2004


Encyclopedia of DNA and the United States Criminal Justice System
REF. RA 1057.55 .P34 2004

Statistics:

Statistical Abstract of the United States
REF. HA 202 .A38 (annual)

World Almanac and Book of Facts
REF. AY 67 .N5 W7 (annual)

Crime in the United States
REF. HV 6787 .A3 (annual)

  • The U. S. Supreme Court
    Call Number: Ref. KF8742.A35 F53 2007
 

Librarian, Division Chair

Profile ImageTeresa Ronning
Contact Info:
ACC Library-Scoville Bldg.
(518) 743-2260, ext. 2261
Send Email

Subjects:
Systems librarian, Reference, Social Science, Law, Criminal Justice

 

Electronic Books

NetLibrary is a small collection of about 5000 full-text, electronic books. You may view the chapters of the books online. Books range from classic novels to recent books on technology and include reference books. ACC students, faculty and staff may search this from off-campus.

Project Gutenberg is the oldest producer of free electronic books on the Internet. This collection contains more than 15,000 eBooks. Most are older literary works that are in the public domain in the United States. All may be freely downloaded, read and redistributed for non-commercial use.

LibriVox  offers free audio books downloadable to your IPod. Books are classic novels, etc. that are in public domain; books are read by volunteers.

Encyclopedia.com

This is a free Web site, but is owned by reference books publisher Gale Publishing. It links to published reference books chapters.

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait