This is the "Books" page of the "French Language and Culture" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
A LIFETIME OF LEARNING OPPORTUNITIES                   Apply | MyACC User verification is required | Make a Gift | Contact Us

Locations: Queensbury | Saratoga County | Online Distance Learning
Admin Sign In 

French Language and Culture 

The best Web sites, reference books and more, on French culture & language!
Last update: Jul 21st, 2010 URL: http://libguides.sunyacc.edu/french  Print/Mobile Guide   RSS Updates ShareThis

Books         Print/Mobile Page
  
 

Online catalog subjects

Welcome to the French Language and Culture research guide!

Search for books with SUNY Adirondack Library's Book Catalog box above.

Use the subject heading phrase French language

You may also search with an author, country or other broad place name, or a phrase:

  • France and literature or
  • France and art.
 

Electronic Books

NetLibrary is a small collection of about 5000 full-text, electronic books. You may view the chapters of the books online. Books range from classic novels to recent books on technology and include reference books. SUNY Adirondack students, faculty and staff may search this from off-campus.

Project Gutenberg is the oldest producer of free electronic books on the Internet. This collection contains more than 15,000 eBooks. Most are older literary works that are in the public domain in the United States. All may be freely downloaded, read and redistributed for non-commercial use.

LibriVox  offers free audio books downloadable to your IPod. Books are classic novels, etc. that are in public domain; books are read by volunteers.

 
 

Reference Books: a Selected List

Find these books on the main floor of the SUNY Adirondack Library. They cannot be borrowed, but are always in the library to use. They also offer quick background information and overviews on subjects.

Cassell's French-English, English-French Dictionary = Dictionnaire Français-Anglais, Anglais-Français
Reference PC 2640 .C3 1981

Dictionary of 501 French Verbs, Fully Conjugated in All the Tenses
Reference PC 2271 .K38 1970

Merriam-Webster's French-English Dictionary
Reference  PC
2640 .M48 2000

NTC's Dictionary of Canadian French
Reference PC 3637 .R62 1991

Here's a circulating book you can borrow: The Story of French (Circulating Collection PC 2075 .N33 2006).

Consult a reference librarian for additional reference and circulating books about France, its culture, art, food, and more. 

 

Circulating Books: a Selected List

These books are available on the second floor; they can be borrowed.

Anthologie de la Poésie Française PQ1165 .P78

Le Bon Usage, Grammaire Française avec des Remarques sur la Langue Française d’Aujourd’Hui PC2111 .G7937 1964

The Flowers of Evil PQ2191.F62 E5 1989

The Genesis of Modernism: Seurat, Gauguin, Van Gogh, & French Symbolism in the 1880’s ND547.3.N3 L6 1983

Guide de l’Etudiant en Littérature Française PQ51 .B6 1964

Main Currents of Modern French Drama PQ551 .S6 1968

Les Noces M1520.S9 N63 1998

Oxford Paperback French Dictionary and Grammar PC2640 .O84 1995

Phèdre
PQ1898 .A447 1991

The Romance of Water GB671 .W3813 1969

The  Rules of the Game in Paris DC34 .L5313 1969

Sartre: a Life B2430.S34 C5413 1987

La Tortue et le Lièvre -  The Tortoise and the Hare PC2115 .B596 1995

Voices of Négritude PQ3899 .J6

Need more? See this page: Finding Books.

 
Description

Loading  Loading content... please wait