Greece and Turkey Research
Welcome to the Greece and Turkey research guide!
- Move around this guide by clicking the tabs.
- Note that the Travel Destinations research guide is linked as the last tab.
Books to Borrow
You can borrow the books below. Need more? See this page: Finding Books. Use the subject headings below for more.
The early modern Ottomans: remapping the Empire
Call Number: DR 501 .E27 2007
ISBN/ISSN: 0521817641
Turkey from empire to revolutionary republic : the emergence of the Turkish nation from 1789 to the present
Call Number: DR 559 .A39 2007
ISBN/ISSN: 0814707211
Understanding Greek sculpture: ancient meanings, modern readings
Call Number: NB 90 .S66 1996
ISBN/ISSN: 0500237107
Aladdin’s lamp: how Greek science came to Europe through the Islamic world
Call Number: Q 127.G7 F74 2009
ISBN/ISSN: 030726534X
Greece, Athens and the Mainland
Call Number: DF 716 .G758 2009
ISBN/ISSN: 140531186X
Travel guidebooks
You may borrow these travel guidebooks. To see if they're already out, search the book catalog above with "Greece guidebooks" or "Turkey guidebooks.":
- Turkey (Insight guides) DR 416 .I57 2008
- Athens and the Peloponnese DF916.5 .A75 2006 (Knopf Guide)
- Greece DF895 .B37 2005 (Blue Guide)
- Greece DF716 .G74 2004 (Lonely Planet)
- Greek Islands DF895 .G74 2004 (Lonely Planet)
- Crete DF901.C8 C35 2003 (Blue Guide)
- Turkey DR429.4 .Y35 2003 (Lonely Planet)
- Turkey DR416 .M33 2001 (Blue Guide)
Online catalog subjects
Search for books with ACC Library's online catalog; you may use the link above. Subject headings and keywords like these work well to find books in the ACC Library:
Astrology History
Greece Civilization
Classical antiquities
Greece History
Science, Greece
Science, Islamic countries
Science, Ancient
Islam and science
Sex customs Greece
Greece history
Military history, Ancient
Military history, Medieval
Military art and science History
Political science Greece
Music and Greece
Turkey
Middle East
European Union
Ottoman
Balkan peninsula
Religion and politics -- Middle East
Middle East -- Politics and government
Middle East -- Economic conditions
Armenians
Armenian massacres, 1915-1923, Turkey.
Food history
Mediterranean Region -- History
Reference Books about Greece and Turkey
Find these books on the main floor of the library. They cannot be borrowed, but are always in the library to use. Many more are available; ask a reference librarian for assistance.
Wilson, Nigel Guy. Encyclopedia
of ancient Greece
Ref. DF16 .E52 2006
The Middle East. Ref. DS63.1 .M484 2007
Rudolph, Joseph R. Encyclopedia of modern ethnic conflicts
Ref. GN496 .E56 2003
Wallenfels, Ronald. The Ancient Near East: an encyclopedia for students
Ref. DS57 .A67 2000
Sela, Avraham. Political encyclopedia of the Middle East
Ref. DS62.8 .P64 1999
Simon, Reeva S. Encyclopedia of the modern Middle East
Ref. DS43 .E53 1996
Also see ACC Library research guides on other subjects: Anthropology, Art, Music, more. Rememeber to search the Book Catalog for lots more books!
Books to Borrow
Here’s a list of the most recent circulating books about
Greece and Turkey in the ACC Library. You’ll notice that many about Greece are in the DF call number – DF is the Library of Congress call
number for Greece! Books about Turkey and the Middle East are in the DS call number.
You may borrow these for four weeks with your student ID or a
photo ID.
The library has more than 130 books about Greece and more than 100 books asbout Turkey. Search the online catalog above more more on your subject.
Circulating Books about Greece:
- Freely, John. Aladdin’s lamp: how Greek science came to Europe through the Islamic world Q127.G7 F74 2009
- Jones, Nicholas F. Politics and society in ancient Greece JC73 .J66 2008
- Shapiro, H. A. Cambridge companion to archaic Greece DF77 .C317 2007
- Alcock, Susan E. Classical archaeology DE86 .C58 2007
- Marincola, John. A companion to Greek and Roman historiography DE8 .C65 2007
- Valavanēs, Panos. Great moments in Greek archaeology DF77 .G74 2007
- Green, Peter, The Hellenistic age : a short history DE86 .G74 2007
- Hall, Jonathan M. A history of the archaic Greek world, ca. 1200-479 BCE DF221.2 .H35 2007
- Herodotus. The landmark Herodotus : the histories 2007 D58 .H4713 2007
- Connelly, Joan Breton, Portrait of a priestess : women and ritual in ancient Greece BL795.W65 C66 2007
- Snodgrass, Anthony M. Archaeology and the emergence of Greece 2006 DF78 .S64 2006
- Evans, J. A. S. The beginnings of history : Herodotus and the Persian Wars D56.52.H45 E89 2006
- Cantor, Norman F. Alexander the Great : journey to the end of the earth 2005 DF234 .C26 2005
- Marker, Sherry. Greece. DF895 .B37 2005
- Pomeroy, Sarah B. A brief history of ancient Greece : politics, society, and culture DF214 .B74 2004
- Haugen, David M. The Middle East DS63.2.U5 M425 2009
- Wright, Robin B., Dreams and shadows: the future of the Middle East DS44 .W87 2008
- Sorenson, David S., An introduction to the modern Middle East : history, religion, political economy, politics DS44 .S67 2008
- Smith, Dan, The state of the Middle East : an atlas of conflict and resolution DS631 .S64 2008
- Oren, Michael B., Power, faith, and fantasy : America in the Middle East, 1776 to the present DS63.2.U5 O54 2007
Electronic Books
NetLibrary is a small collection of about 5000 full-text, electronic books. You may view the chapters of the books online. Books range from classic novels to recent books on technology and include reference books. ACC students, faculty and staff may search this from off-campus.
Project Gutenberg is the oldest producer of free electronic books on the Internet. This collection contains more than 15,000 eBooks. Most are older literary works that are in the public domain in the United States. All may be freely downloaded, read and redistributed for non-commercial use.
LibriVox offers free audio books downloadable to your IPod. Books are classic novels, etc. that are in public domain; books are read by volunteers.
Description
Loading content... please wait


