This is the "Hill Collection (Local History)" page of the "Hill Collection" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
A LIFETIME OF LEARNING OPPORTUNITIES                   Apply | MyACC User verification is required | Make a Gift | Contact Us

Locations: Queensbury | Saratoga County | Online Distance Learning
Admin Sign In 

Hill Collection 

SUNY Adirondack Library's local history collection
Last update: Jul 21st, 2010 URL: http://libguides.sunyacc.edu/hillcollection  Print/Mobile Guide   RSS Updates ShareThis

Hill Collection (Local History)         Print/Mobile Page
  
 

Hill Collection Overview

The Hill Collection is a research collection of over 1,600 historical books including volumes of the papers of Sir William Johnson , diaries, pamphlets, letters, clippings, manuscripts and other material.  Its primary focus is the regional history of the Glens Falls area (Warren, Washington and Saratoga Counties, the Revolutionary and French and Indian Wars). The material dates from the mid-eighteenth century to the present.

The Hill Collection Room is located within the Library in the Scoville Learning Center of SUNY Adirondack (Adirondack Community College) at 640 Bay Road, Queensbury, NY.

William Hart Hill (1891-1959) was an historian, author of several books and collector of regional history material. He was specifically interested in the history of Washington County and Fort Edward.  Mr. Hill also operated the Newton and Hill Hardware store in Fort Edward. His store supplied much of the dynamite used in mines in the Adirondacks. In 1978 Mrs. Hill donated a portion of this the material to The College. Additional items of this collection were given to the New York State Library (link to NYSL Hill Collection) and to the Fort Edward Historical Society.

Among the collection's items are:
  • scrapbooks of original letters and articles compiled by Mr. Hill;
  • county and town histories; and
  • books on events and people instrumental in the region's history, including the French and Indian War and American Revolution.
The library augments the original collection by purchasing current books relating to the area's history. The Library's online catalog lists these items.  To limit your search to only Original Hill Collection items: in addition to the standard search terms desired,from the drop down choose "Collection" and type in the term HILLO; newer items in the collection can be searched by adding HILL to the search terms.
 

Mr. William Hart Hill

Photo courtesy of the Fort Edward Historical Society.

 
 

Hill Collection Highlights

S.S. John Jay burned on Lake George July 29, 1856

Here are the original depositions taken from the crew and some passengers of the S.S. John Jay.  Beside each you will see a transcription for easier reading. A further account was printed in the New York Times on August 2, 1856. (Log in with your SUNY Adirondack username/password to see this article from the New York Times subscription database.)

 

The Hill Collection Room

The interior of the Hill Collection Room at the SUNY Adirondack Library.

 
Description

Loading  Loading content... please wait