This is the "Books" page of the "World History" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
A LIFETIME OF LEARNING OPPORTUNITIES                   Apply | MyACC User verification is required | Make a Gift | Contact Us

Locations: Queensbury | Saratoga County | Online Distance Learning
Admin Sign In 

World History 

Find the best resources for history research with this guide!
Last update: Mar 12th, 2010 URL: http://libguides.sunyacc.edu/history  Print/Mobile Guide  RSS Updates

Books             Print/Mobile Page
  
 

Online catalog subjects

Welcome to the ACC Library's research guide on world history.

Search for books with ACC Library's online catalog using the search box to the above right.

Subject headings like these work well to find books in the ACC Library:

World War, 1914-1918
World War, 1939-1945
Genocide
France - History -1789-1900
Calvin, Jean


Search tips:

  • The Library of Congress chooses these subject headings. It doesn't use the common terms for wars such as "World War I" or "World War II", for instance, but uses formal subject headings instead, such as "World War, 1914-1918" and "World War, 1939-1945" .
  • To find books on two overlapping topics, use the word and, with a keyword search: "Middle East and history," for instance. This technique is called Boolean logic.
  • To find books using subjects that can have variant endings, use truncation, or wildcard endings. This technique looks for any ending of a word after a symbol, usually an asterisk. Not sure if a book is listed by the terms "history" or historical"? Type in "histor*" to retrieve books listing either: German* and histor* and war
  • You may also search for names (Roosevelt) and countries (Rwanda) and other specific topics. Consult a reference librarian if you are not finding what you need.
  • To find videos, select Advanced Search and limit your search by collection to Media-Videotape or Media-DVD.
  • Circulating books, on the upper level of the library, may be checked out for a month.
 

Electronic Books

NetLibrary is a small collection of about 5000 full-text, electronic books. You may view the chapters of the books online. Books range from classic novels to recent books on technology and include reference books. ACC students, faculty and staff may search this from off-campus.

Project Gutenberg is the oldest producer of free electronic books on the Internet. This collection contains more than 15,000 eBooks. Most are older literary works that are in the public domain in the United States. All may be freely downloaded, read and redistributed for non-commercial use.

LibriVox  offers free audio books downloadable to your IPod. Books are classic novels, etc. that are in public domain; books are read by volunteers.

 
 

World History Books

In the Library of Congress call number system, "D" is the call number for World and European history. To get an overview of your subject, you may want to browse through reference books such as the ones in the box below.

Before writing your paper, look at this book:

Writing history: A guide for students by William Kelleher Storey (Ref. D 16 .S864 2004).  A copy is kept at the Reference Desk. It offers information on history topic selection, starting your research, writing about history, evaluating sources, building an argument, using footnotes and much more.

 

World History Reference Books

Encyclopedia of the Renaissance and the Reformation
Reference CB 359 .B47 2004

World eras    
Reference D 20 .W67 2001 (6 vols.)

Encyclopedia of World History
Reference D21 .E5775  2008 (7 vols.)

Encyclopedia of invasions and conquests from ancient times to the present
Reference D 25.A2 D38 2006

Encyclopedia of barbarian Europe: society in transformation
Reference D 135 .F73 2003

Europe 1789 to 1914: encyclopedia of the age of industry and empire    
Reference D 299 .E735 2006 (5 vols.)

Europe since 1914: encyclopedia of the age of war and reconstruction    
Reference D 424 .E94 2006 (5 vols.)

Encyclopedia of World War I: a political, social, and military history    
Reference D 510 .E53 2005

Encyclopedia of World War II: a political, social, and military history
Reference D 740 .E516 2005 (5 vols.)

Encyclopedia of the Cold War: a political, social, and military history
Reference D840 .E63 2008 (5 vols.)

Encyclopedia of ancient Greece
Reference DF 16 .E52 2006

The Greenwood encyclopedia of daily life: a tour through history from ancient times to the present
Reference GT 31 .G74 2004 (6 vols.)

Terrorism : a guide to events and documents     
Reference HV 6431 .K698 2004

Terrorism: Essential Primary Sources    
Reference HV 6431 .T465 2006

Historical dictionary of the European Union    
Reference JN 15 .R75 2006

Encyclopedia of twentieth-century photography
Reference TR 642 .E5 2006 (3 vols.)

Empires at war: a chronological encyclopedia    
Reference U 29 .G232 2005 (3 vols.)

 

Finding Books

Need more? See this page: Finding Books.

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait