Online catalog subjects (examples)
Welcome to the Literature and Writers research guide!
To find books in the library, use the Book
Catalog search box above to search for subjects such as:
Short stories
Afro-American authors
Authors, American
Juvenile fiction
Criticism
Literature history and criticism theory
Science fiction
American prose literature
Faulkner, William
If you don't find enough, use broader subjects: American authors, women authors, gay and lesbian authors, and the like.
To find books by an author, type the last name first, and use the Author search choice.
To find books about writing, the terms Authorship or Rhetoric work well in most databases.
News
Faulkner Link to Plantation Diary Discovered
The Battle for Jack Kerouac's Estate
Arts & Letters Daily A NEWSPAPER FOR THE LITERARY
Gale Literary Reference/Circulating Books
The Gale publishing company's paper indexes for the following titles are on the shelves; the volumes are on the second floor. The electronic index for the following publications is located in the Literature Resource Center (SUNY Adirondack Library> Finding Articles > Subject Databases > Literature Resource Center). Or you can enter "Gale Literary Index" in Google, or click Gale Index.
The following Gale publications are on our shelves:
The Beat Generation : A Gale Critical Companion
Ref PS 228.B6 B43 2003 Vol.3
Contemporary Literary Criticism Index Ref PN 771 .C59
Contemporary Literary Criticism volumes circulate and are on the second floor PN 771 .G27
Contemporary Authors Cumulative Index Ref Z 1224 .C6
Contemporary Authors volumes circulate and are on the second floor Z 1224 .C58
Dictionary of Literary Biography: Documentary Series
Ref PS 129 .D52
Dictionary of Literary Biography ( We own approximately 50 selected volumes of the DLB series.)
PS 21 .D52 VOL.193
Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism Index
Ref PN 761 .N56
Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism volumes circulate and are on the second floor PN 761 .N58
Shakespearean Criticism: Excerpts from the Criticism of William
Shakespeare's Plays and Poetry, from the First Published Appraisals to
Current Evaluations
Ref PR 2965 .S44 VOl.30
Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism Index
Ref PN 771 .G27
Twentieth Century Literary Criticism volumes circulate and are on the second floor PN 771 .G27
Literature and Writers (a selected list of reference books)
SUNY Adirondack Library's reference collection has hundreds of reference books for literature research, in the call number area P (Literature) on the main floor.
The reference books include literary criticism, author biographies, literary themes and genres (science fiction, horror, children's books, etc.), literary dictionaries, quotation books, reference books covering one particular author (Shakespeare, Chaucer, Poe, many others) and much, much more. Click on the Advanced Seach tab at the top of the search screen in the catalog; enter the specific terms for which you are looking; and select "Reference" from the drop down menu in the Collections section.
|
Call Number |
|||
|
Johnson, Sarah L., |
Historical fiction II : a
guide to the genre |
2009 |
Ref. Z1231.H57 J64 2009 |
|
Birch, Dinah. |
The Oxford companion to English
literature |
2009 |
Ref. PR19 .O94 2009 |
|
Habib, Rafey. |
A history of literary criticism
: from Plato to the present |
2008 |
Ref. PN86 .H23 2008 |
|
Oh, Seiwoong. |
Encyclopedia of Asian-American
literature |
2007 |
Ref. PS153.A84 O37 2007 |
|
D’Ammassa, Don, |
Encyclopedia of fantasy and horror
fiction |
2006 |
Ref. PR830.F3 D36 2006 |
|
Brackett, Mary Virginia. |
The Facts on File companion to the
British novel. |
2006 |
Ref. PR821 .F2 2006 |
|
Ayto, John. |
Brewer’s dictionary of phrase
& fable |
2005 |
Ref. PN43 .B65 2005 |
|
Boucquey, Thierry. |
Encyclopedia of world writers |
2005 |
Ref. PN451 .E55 2005 |
|
Sova, Dawn B. |
Banned plays : censorship
histories of 125 stage dramas |
2004 |
Ref. PN2042 .S68 2004 |
|
Tyler, J. E. A. |
The complete Tolkien companion |
2004 |
Ref. PR6039.O32 Z459 2004 |
|
Bryer, Jackson R. |
The Facts on File companion to
American drama |
2004 |
Ref. PS330 .F33 2004 |
|
Parini, Jay. |
The Oxford encyclopedia of
American literature |
2004 |
Ref. PS21 .O94 2004 |
|
Huang, Guiyou, |
Asian American short story writers
: an A-to-Z guide |
2003 |
Ref. PS153.A84 A828 2003 |
|
Zott, Lynn M. |
The beat generation : a Gale
critical companion |
2003 |
PS228.B6 B43 2003 |
|
Drabble, Margaret, |
The concise Oxford companion to
English literature |
2003 |
Ref. PR19 .D73 2003 |
|
Krueger, Christine L. |
Encyclopedia of British writers |
2003 |
Ref. PR451 .E55 2003 |
|
Kanellos, Nicolás. |
Hispanic literature of the United
States : a comprehensive reference |
2003 |
Ref. PS153.H56 K36 2003 |
|
Day, Frances Ann. |
Latina and Latino voices in
literature : lives and works |
2003 |
Ref. PS153 .H56 2003 |
|
Speake, Jennifer. |
Literature of travel and
exploration : an encyclopedia |
2003 |
Ref. G465 .L565 2003 |
|
Kurian, George Thomas. |
Timetables of world literature |
2003 |
Ref. PN524 .K87 2003 |
|
Genova, Pamela Antonia, |
Twayne companion to contemporary
world literature : from the editors of World Literature Today |
2003 |
Ref. PN771 .T93 2003 |
|
Flora, Joseph M. |
The companion to southern
literature : themes, genres, places, people, movements, and motifs |
2002 |
Ref. PS261 .C55 2002 |
|
Berkin, Carol. |
Encyclopedia of American
literature. |
2002 |
Ref. PS21 .E53 2002 |
|
Patterson, David. |
Encyclopedia of Holocaust
literature |
2002 |
Ref. PN56.H55 E53 2002 |
|
Perkins, George B., |
HarperCollins reader’s
encyclopedia of American literature |
2002 |
Ref. PS21 .B46 2002 |
|
Hainsworth, Peter. |
The Oxford companion to Italian
literature |
2002 |
Ref. PQ4006 .O84 2002 |
|
New York Public Library. |
The New York Public Library literature
companion |
2001 |
Ref. PN41 .N49 2001 |
|
Hatch, Shari Dorantes. |
African-American writers : a
dictionary |
2000 |
Ref. PS153.N5 A344 2000 |
|
Gelfant, Blanche H., |
The Columbia companion to the
twentieth-century American short story |
2000 |
Ref. PS374.S5 C57 2000 |
|
Lambdin, Robert T. |
Encyclopedia of medieval
literature |
2000 |
Ref. PN669 .E53 2000 |
|
Barron, Neil, |
Fantasy and horror : a
critical and historical guide to literature, illustration, film, TV, radi |
2000 |
Ref. PN56.F35 F35 2000 |
|
Drabble, Margaret, |
The Oxford companion to English
literature |
2000 |
Ref. PR19.H3 D6 2000 |
|
Knowles, Elizabeth |
The Oxford dictionary of phrase
and fable |
2000 |
Ref. PN43 .O94 2000 |
|
Baker, Nancy L., |
A research guide for undergraduate
students : English and American literature |
2000 |
Ref. PR56 .B34 2000 |
|
Henderson, Helene, |
Twentieth-century literary
movements dictionary : a compendium to more than 500 literary, critic |
2000 |
Ref. PN597 .T94 2000 |
|
Padgett, Ron. |
World poets |
2000 |
Ref. PN1021 .W67 2000 |
![]()
Electronic Books
NetLibrary is a small collection of about 5000 full-text, electronic books. You may view the chapters of the books online. Books range from classic novels to recent books on technology and include reference books. SUNY Adirondack students, faculty and staff may search this from off-campus.
Project Gutenberg is the oldest producer of free electronic books on the Internet. This collection contains more than 15,000 eBooks. Most are older literary works that are in the public domain in the United States. All may be freely downloaded, read and redistributed for non-commercial use.
LibriVox offers free audio books downloadable to your IPod. Books are classic novels, etc. that are in public domain; books are read by volunteers.
Finding Books
Need more books? See Finding Books.
Description
Loading content... please wait



