This is the "Books and Statistics" page of the "Marketing" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Marketing  

Find the best marketing and demographic sources fast!
Last Updated: Mar 28, 2013 URL: http://libguides.sunyacc.edu/marketing Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Books and Statistics Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Books to Borrow

Welcome to the marketing research guide!

You may borrow books like these.
Search for more with the Book Catalog, using the link to the above right.

Cover Art
The luxury strategy: break the rules of marketing to build luxury brands - Kapferer, Jean-Noël
Call Number: HD9999.L852 K37 2012
ISBN: 0749464917

Cover Art
The 4 A’s of marketing : creating value for customers, companies and society - Sheth, Jagdish N.
Call Number: HF5415.55 .S54 2012
ISBN: 0415898358

Cover Art
The real mad men : the renegades of Madison Avenue and the golden age of advertising - Cracknell, Andrew
Call Number: HF6182.U5 C73 2011
ISBN: 0762440902

Cover Art
Onward: how Starbucks fought for its life without losing its soul - Schultz, Howard.
Call Number: HD9199.U54 S737 2011
ISBN: 1605292885

Cover Art
The fundamentals of marketing - Russell, Edward
Call Number: HF5415.13 .R87 2010
ISBN: 2940373728

Cover Art
The marketing plan - Cohen, William A.
Call Number: HF 5415.13 .C634 2006
ISBN: 047175529X

Cover Art
Guide to business planning
Call Number: HD30.28 .F747 2009
ISBN: 1576603288

Cover Art
I’m feeling lucky: the confessions of Google employee number 59 - Edwards, Douglas
Call Number: HD9696.8.U64 G56 2011
ISBN: 0547416997

Cover Art
The little blue book of marketing: build a killer plan in less than a day - Kurnit, Paul
Call Number: HF 5415 .K844 2009
ISBN: 9781591843054

Cover Art
Real-time marketing for business growth : how to use social media, measure marketing, and create a culture of execution - Reece, Monique
Call Number: HF 5415.13 .R367 2010
ISBN: 9780137010103

Cover Art
The ultimate web marketing guide - Miller, Michael
Call Number: HF 5415.1265 .M555 2011
ISBN: 9780789741004

Cover Art
The facebook era: tapping online social networks to market, sell, and innovate - Shih, Clara Chung-wai
Call Number: HD 30.37 .S49 2011
ISBN: 0137085125

Cover Art
Web 2.0 and beyond: understanding the new online business models, trends, and technologies - Funck, Tom
Call Number: HF 5548.32 .F863 2009
ISBN: 0313351872

Cover Art
YouTube for business: online video marketing for any business - Miller, Michael
Call Number: HF 5415.1265 .M556 2009
ISBN: 0789737973

Cover Art
Blackwell Encyclopedia of Management: Marketing
Call Number: HD 30.15 .B455 2005, vol. 9
ISBN: 0631233172

Cover Art
The referral engine: teaching your business to market itself - Jantsch, John
Call Number: HF 5438.25 .J36 2010
ISBN: 9781591843115

Cover Art
Internet marketing, start-to-finish - Juon, Catherine.
Call Number: HF5415.1265 .J86 2012
ISBN: 0789747898

Cover Art
The fundamentals of creative advertising - Burtenshaw, Ken.
Call Number: HF5823 .B877 2011
ISBN: 2940411565

 

Marketing Statistics

FedStats                           
Demographic & economic data and much more from 100 federal agencies.


Business Data & Statistics from Small Business Administration. Links to consumer statistics, demographics, economic, income; specific industries, much more.

    Consumer Expenditure Survey
    Shows how much Americans spend on specific types of consumer goods. Browse down page for most recent Consumer Expenditure Reports, or comparisons by region. From Bureau of Labor Statistics & Census Bureau. The A-Z Index is helpful.

    County Business Patterns
    Search for numbers of types of businesses in each county, with numbers of employees, more. New: under Metropolitan/Micropolitan Statistical Area, choose Glens Falls MSA.


    Occupational Outlook Handbook
    Career information from the U.S. Department of Labor, updated each year. Offers outlook of various careers, plus professional associations.


    USA Counties
    From Census Bureau; choose a county for detailed information on "age, agriculture, ancestry, banking, building permits, business patterns, crime, earnings, education, elections, employment, government, health, households, housing, income, labor force, manufactures, population, poverty, retail trade, social programs, veterans, vital statistics, water use, and wholesale trade." Downloadable data.

    U.S. Census Bureau: American Factfinder
    "Your source for population, housing, economic, and geographic data."

    U.S. Census Bureau: Business Data You Can Use - Economic Census data of U.S. businesses from 2002 and 2007 economic censuses; national and state information on sales, industries, much more. Also see Business & Industry links.


    Open.ny.govOpen Data Portal from New York State, offering local, state, federal statistics on huge variety of topics. Debuted in March, 2013.  Search by topic, town, zip code, more. Offers business, health data, much more.

    New York State Data Center: "The state's primary and most comprehensive source for economic and demographic data, tracking the trends of the State of New York, its businesses and people." From Empire State Development. 

    Post-Star's DataVault - Glens Falls region's daily newspaper offers a page of statistics sources for this area.

    Jimapco Map Room - Local map company offers web site with demographics for specific local areas.

    These reference books below offer demographics, income, educational level, etc. They're located on the main floor of the library. Tip: Check sources at the bottom of the statistical charts in these books; you can search those agency Web sites for more current information, or use the Web sites above.

    • Statistical Abstract of the United States REF. HA 202 .A38 (annual)
    • County Business Patterns: New York REF. HC 107 .N7 U517 2000 (see latest online version)
    • County and City Extra REF. HA 203 .C68 (annual)
    • New York State Statistical Yearbook REF. HA 541 .N489 (annual)
    • American Time Use   REF. HD 69 .T54 A46 2007

    See the Web Sites tab for more.

     

    Marketing Reference Books

    Find these books on the main floor of the library. They cannot be borrowed, but are always in the library to use.

    Small Business Sourcebook (6 volumes)
    REF. HD 2341 .S63 2011

    Handbook of industry profiles 2009: analysis and trends for 300 industries
    Ref. HD 2328 .H74 2009

    Business Plans Handbooks *
    REF. HD 62.7 .B865

    Small Business Profiles
    REF. HD 62.7 .S62 1995

    Encyclopedia of Small Business *
    REF. HD 62.7 .H553 1998 (2 vols.)

    Broadcasting & Cable Yearbook
    REF. HE 8689 .B77 (annual)

    Business Review's Book of Lists (Capital District)
    REF. HF 5065 .N5 B66 (annual)

    Marketing Encyclopedia: Issues and trends…
    REF. HF 5415 .M29 1995

    Marketing Information: Reference Guide
    REF. HF 5415.124 .M37 1995

    Dictionary of Marketing Terms
    REF. HF 5415 .D4874 1995

    Encyclopedia of Industrial & Organizational Psychology    
    REF. HF 5548.8 .E498 2007

    Advertising Age Encyclopedia of Advertising
    REF. HF 5803 .A38 2003 (3 vols.)

    Consumer Reports Buying Guide Issue
    REF. TX 335 .C62 (annual)

    * These reference books are offered online in the Gale Virtual Reference Center database, available on the Online Reference tab.

     

    More Business Books

    Cover Art
    The top 10 distinctions between entrepreneurs and employees - Smith, Keith Cameron.
    Call Number: HB 615 .S65 2012
    ISBN: 0345535502

    For Company Research

    If you're researching a company's organizational strategy and need information about the company, use these research guides:

     

    Book Subject Suggestions

    Search for marketing books using these terms in the Book Catalog, using the link to the above right. 

    Consumer education
    Commercial products
    New business enterprises
    Marketing
    Commercial statistics
    Small business

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip