This is the "Books" page of the "Mass Communications" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
A LIFETIME OF LEARNING OPPORTUNITIES                   Apply | MyACC User verification is required | Make a Gift | Contact Us

Locations: Queensbury | Saratoga County | Online Distance Learning
Admin Sign In 

Mass Communications 

Research mass communications issues? Start here!
Last update: Mar 08th, 2010 URL: http://libguides.sunyacc.edu/masscommunications  Print/Mobile Guide  RSS Updates

Books             Print/Mobile Page
  
 

Online catalog subjects

Welcome to the ACC Library's research guide on research mass communications issues!

Search for books with ACC Library's online catalog.

Subject headings like these work well to find books in the ACC Library:

Advertising alcoholic beverages
Aggressiveness on television
Censorship
Freedom of speech
Women in mass media
Journalism
Mass media and children
Mass media and teenagers
Mass media - United States
Television advertising
Sex in mass media
Violence in mass media

 

Electronic Books

NetLibrary is a small collection of about 5000 full-text, electronic books. You may view the chapters of the books online. Books range from classic novels to recent books on technology and include reference books. ACC students, faculty and staff may search this from off-campus.

Project Gutenberg is the oldest producer of free electronic books on the Internet. This collection contains more than 15,000 eBooks. Most are older literary works that are in the public domain in the United States. All may be freely downloaded, read and redistributed for non-commercial use.

LibriVox  offers free audio books downloadable to your IPod. Books are classic novels, etc. that are in public domain; books are read by volunteers.

 
 

ACC Library Reference Books

Find these books on the main floor of the ACC Library. They cannot be borrowed, but are always in the library to use.

Broadcasting & Cable Yearbook
REF. HE 8689.B77 2005

International Television & Video Almanac
REF. HE 8698 .I55 2008

Marketing Encyclopedia
REF. HF 5415 .M29 1995

Encyclopedia of Advertising
REF. HF 5803 .A38 2003

Editor & Publisher Market Guide
REF. HF 5905 .E38 2008

Encyclopedia of Children, Adolescents and the Media
REF. HQ 784 .M3 E53 2007

Encyclopedia of New Media
REF. QA76.575 .E53 2003

Encyclopedia of Communications and Information
REF. P 87.5 E53 2001

Dictionary of Media and Communications
REF. P 87.5 .W45 1996

From Talking Drums to the Internet
REF. P 96 .T42 G37 1997

Violence and the Media : A Reference Handbook
REF. P 96 .V5 N48 1996

Encyclopedia of American Radio 1920-1960
REF. PN 1991.2 .S57 2000

Encyclopedia of Television
REF. PN 1992.18 .E53 1997

Television in American Society
REF. PN 1992.2. H534 2006 Vol.1,2,3

Prime Time, Prime Movers
REF. PN 1992.3 .U5 M264 1995

Motion Picture Guide
REF. PN 1993 .M67 1999

Cyber Dictionary
REF. TK 5101.5 .C93 1996

Encyclopedia of Radio
REF. TK 6544 .M84 2004

Free Expression and Censorship in America
REF. Z 658.U5 F644 1997

Censorship in America: A Reference Handbook
REF. Z 658 .U5 H84 1999

Encyclopedia of Censorship
REF. Z 657 .G73 2005

Gale Directory of Publications and Broadcast Media
REF. Z 6951 .A97 1999

 

Featured Librarian

Profile ImageDavid Ofiara
Contact Info:
Reference and Media Librarian
Professor of Library Science
743-2200 ext. 2484
Send Email

Subjects:
Multimedia Acquisitions, Collection Development Liaison for Media Services, Technology Division and Engineering

 

Finding Online Books

Need more? See this page: Finding Books.

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait