This is the "Books" page of the "Nursing and Health" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
A LIFETIME OF LEARNING OPPORTUNITIES                   Apply | MyACC User verification is required | Make a Gift | Contact Us

Locations: Queensbury | Saratoga County | Online Distance Learning
Admin Sign In 

Nursing and Health 

Start here with your nursing and health research!
Last update: Feb 25th, 2010 URL: http://libguides.sunyacc.edu/nursing  Print/Mobile Guide  RSS Updates

Books            Print/Mobile Page
  
 

Online catalog subjects

Welcome to the Nursing research guide!

Search for books with ACC Library's online catalog.

Subject headings like these work well to find books in the ACC Library:

Psychiatric nursing
Caring
Geriatric nursing
Nursing care plans
Patient education
Cancer
Pediatric nursing
Rehabilitation nursing
Nursing - Dictionaries
Physiology
AIDS (Disease)
Maternity nursing


When you find a relevant book on the catalog, write down the entire Library of Congress call number.  Find the books on the shelves using the call number.

The call number for Nursing is RT.

Science books start with the call number Q; medical books start with the call number R.

 

Electronic Books

NetLibrary is a small collection of about 5000 full-text, electronic books. You may view the chapters of the books online. Books range from classic novels to recent books on technology and include reference books. ACC students, faculty and staff may search this from off-campus.

Project Gutenberg is the oldest producer of free electronic books on the Internet. This collection contains more than 15,000 eBooks. Most are older literary works that are in the public domain in the United States. All may be freely downloaded, read and redistributed for non-commercial use.

LibriVox  offers free audio books downloadable to your IPod. Books are classic novels, etc. that are in public domain; books are read by volunteers.

 
 

Reference Books: 2008-2010 (a selected list)

Find these books on the main floor of the ACC Library. They cannot be borrowed, but are always in the library to use.

  
Manual of Nursing Diagnosis: Including all Diagnostic Categories Approved by the North American  Ref. RT51 .G67 2010
Cultural Diversity in Health and Illness  Ref. RA418.5.T73 S64 2009
Davis’s Comprehensive Handbook of Laboratory and Diagnostic Tests: with Nursing Implications  Ref. RB38.2 .S37 2009
Lippincott Manual of Nursing Practice     Ref. RT51 .B78 2010
Mosby’s Dictionary of Medicine, Nursing & Health Professions  Ref. R121 .M89 2009
Nursing 2009 Student Drug Handbook  Ref. RM301 .N87 2009
The Encyclopedia of Elder Care: the Comprehensive Resource on Geriatric and Social Care  Ref. RC954 .E53 2008
Evidence-based Geriatric Nursing Protocols for Best Practice    Ref. RC954 .G465 2008
Handbook of Nursing Diagnosis  Ref. RT48.6 .C385 2008
Nurse’s Pocket Guide: Diagnoses, Prioritized Interventions, and Rationales  Ref. RT48.6 .D64 2008
Nursing Diagnosis Reference Manual  Ref. RT48.6 .S66 2008
Olds’ Maternal-newborn Nursing & Women’s Health Across the Lifespan  Ref. RG951 .O4327 2008
Patient Safety and Quality: an Evidence-based Handbook for Nurses  Ref. RT87.S24 P38 2008
Pharmacology for Nurses: a Pathophysiologic Approach  Ref. RM301 .A215 2008
Stedman’s Medical Abbreviations, Acronyms & Symbols  Ref. R123 .S69 2008
Top Careers in Two Years: Health Care, Medicine, and Science  Ref. R690 .P67 2008

 

Circulating Books: 2009-2010 (a selected list)

You may borrow circulating books.  To do so, you will need a picture ID.

  
7 Summits: a Nurse’s Quest to Conquer Mountaineering and Life  RT37.H32 A3 2010
Applying Nursing Process: a Tool for Critical Thinking  RT51 .A625 2010
Charting Made Incredibly Easy!  RT50 .C483 2010
Child Health Nursing: Partnering with Children & Families  RJ245 .B344 2010
Dosage calculations Made Incredibly Easy!  RS57 .D67 2010
An Introduction to Theory and Reasoning in Nursing  RT84.5 .J637 2010
Lippincott’s Handbook for Psychiatric Nursing and Care Planning  RC440 .F535 2010
Cardiovascular Care Made Incredibly Easy!  RC674 .C35 2009
Clinical Practice Quidelines for Midwifery & Women’s Health  RG950 .T476 2009
Community-based Nursing: an Introduction  RT98 .M3 2009
Critical Care Nursing in a Flash  RT120.I5 C762 2009
Evidence-based Nursing Guide to Legal & Professional Issues  KF2915.N8 E95 2009
Fundamental Concepts and Skills for Nursing  RT41 .D443 2009
The Future of the Nursing Workforce in the United States: Data, Trends, and Implications  RT86.73 .B84 2009
Getting the Most from Nursing School: a Guide to Becoming a Nurse  RT71 .A85 2009
Health Care Ethics: Critical Issues for the 21st Century  R724 .M66 2009
Health Promotion Strategies through the Life Span  RT48 .M8 2009
Human Centered Nursing: the Foundation of Quality Care  RT86.3 .K64 2009
Introduction to Critical Care Nursing  RT120.I5 .I58 2009
Leadership Roles and Management Functions in Nursing: Theory and Application  RT89 .M387 2009
Lippincott’s Visual Encyclopedia of Clinical Skills   RT21 .L57 2009
Maternal-neonatal Nursing in a Flash  RG951 .M314 2009
NANDA-I Nursing Diagnoses: Definitions & Classification, 2009-2011  RT48.6 .N36 2009
Nurse’s Rapid Reference  RT51 .N854 2009
Nursing Care Plans & Documentation: Nursing Diagnoses and Collaborative Problems  RT49 .C38 2009
Nursing Drug Interactions Handbook  RM302 .N85 2009
Nursing for Wellness in Older Adults  RC954 .M55 2009
Nursing Know-how. Interpreting ECG’s  RC683.5.E5 N864 2009
Nursing Know-how. Evaluating Heart & Breath Sounds  RC683.5.A9 N87 2009
Nursing Now!: Today’s Issues, Tomorrow’s Trends  RT82 .C33 2009
Nursing Pharmacology Made Incredibly Easy  RM125 .N846 2009
Perianesthesia Nursing: a Critical Care Approach  RD51.3 .D73 2009
Profound Intellectual and Multiple Disabilities: Nursing Complex Needs  RC570 .P697 2009
Skills in Clinical Nursing  RT41 .K723 2009
Understanding the Essentials of Critical Care Nursing  RT120.I5 P47 2009
Williams’ Basic Nutrition & Diet Therapy  RM216 .W68 2009
 

 

Finding Books

Need more? See this page: Finding Books.

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait