This is the "Books" page of the "Politics and World News" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
A LIFETIME OF LEARNING OPPORTUNITIES                   Apply | MyACC User verification is required | Make a Gift | Contact Us

Locations: Queensbury | Saratoga County | Online Distance Learning
Admin Sign In 

Politics and World News 

Have questions about politics and world events? Start here!
Last update: Feb 26th, 2010 URL: http://libguides.sunyacc.edu/politics  Print/Mobile Guide  RSS Updates

Books             Print/Mobile Page
  
 

Online catalog subjects

Welcome to the ACC Library's research guide on political news!

Search for books with ACC Library's online catalog, using the search box to the upper right.

Subject headings like these work well to find books in the ACC Library:

Politics and government
Legislation
Government spending policy
Governors
United States Politics and government
United States Congress
Political participation
World politics
Political culture
Democracy

 

Electronic Books

NetLibrary is a small collection of about 5000 full-text, electronic books. You may view the chapters of the books online. Books range from classic novels to recent books on technology and include reference books. ACC students, faculty and staff may search this from off-campus.

Project Gutenberg is the oldest producer of free electronic books on the Internet. This collection contains more than 15,000 eBooks. Most are older literary works that are in the public domain in the United States. All may be freely downloaded, read and redistributed for non-commercial use.

LibriVox  offers free audio books downloadable to your IPod. Books are classic novels, etc. that are in public domain; books are read by volunteers.

 
 

ACC Library Reference Books

Several encyclopedias, dictionaries, statistical summaries and other reference books are listed below. Reference books are located on the main floor of the ACC Library. Web sites are available from all on-campus computers with access to the Internet, or from home.

The CQ Researcher
REFERENCE H 35 .C673
Each issue of Congressional Quarterly offers in-depth. coverage of a timely topic. You may also search CQ’s online version on the Library’s Web page: ACC Library’s Web page > Finding Articles > General Databases > CQ Researcher. (Log in with your network account when prompted if accessing from off campus.)

Facts on File: World News Digest

REFERENCE D 410 .F32
A weekly digest of world events and index to the news. Also available as a database under ACC Library web page > Finding Books > Reference > Facts on File.

Guide to Political Campaigns in America

Ref. JK 2265 .G84 2005

Encyclopedia of Presidential Campaigns, Slogans, Issues and Platforms
Ref. E 176.1 .R6 2004

Encyclopedia of American Religion and Politics

Ref. BL 2525 .D58 2003

Congressional Roll Call

Ref. JK 1 .C6635

The Citizen Action Encyclopedia: Groups and Movements that have Changed America

Ref. JS 303.5 .H35 2002

“An informed democracy will behave in a responsible fashion.”
- Thomas Jefferson

 

Finding Books

Need more? See this page: Finding Books.

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait