Sicily Research
Welcome to the Italy: Sicily research guide! Click the tabs above for articles, Web sites and more.
Finding Books
We have many books about Sicily specifically as well as Italy. Need more? See this page: Finding Books. Search with the term "Sicily" or see the subject headings in the column below.
Online catalog subjects
Use the Book Catalog link above to search for books, using terms like these:
Italy Civilization
Classical antiquities
Sicily
Science, Ancient
Italy history
Military history, Ancient
Military history, Medieval
World War, 1939-1945 Campaigns
Archaeology and Italy
Political science Italy
Music and Italy
Food history
Mediterranean Region and History
Reference Books about Sicily
Find these books on the main floor of the SUNY Adirondack Library. Reference books are always in the library to use. Many more are available; ask a reference librarian for assistance.
- Historical atlas of ancient Rome Ref. DG209 .C6645 2003
- Encyclopedia of contemporary Italian culture Ref. DG450 .E53 2000
Also see other research guides on Anthropology, Art, Music, more.
Travel Guidebooks
You may borrow these travel guidebooks. To see if they're already out, search the book catalog above with "Italy guidebooks". Italy guidebooks will have information on Sicily.
- Eyewitness Guides: Sicily DG 862 .E94 2009 (DK Guides)
- Italy DG416 .B45 2005 (Rough Guide)
- Italy DG416 .K56 2005 (Knopf Guides)
More Books about Sicily
Here’s a list of the most recent circulating books about
Sicily in the library. You’ll notice that many about Italy are in the DG call number – DG is the Library of Congress call
number for Italy.
- Fili, Louise. Italianissimo: the quintessential guide to what Italians do best DG 441 .F55 2008
- Gabaccia, Donna R., Militants and migrants : rural Sicilians become American workers JV 8139.S5 G33 1988
- Holland, Cecelia, Great Maria. PS 3558.O348 G74 1974
- Finley, M. I.(Moses I.), A history of Sicily. 1968 DG 866 .F5 VOL.1
- Bernabò Brea, Luigi. Sicily before the Greeks DG 865 .B423 1966
You may borrow these for four weeks with your student ID or a photo ID. Search the online catalog above more more on your subject.
Online Books
These databases link to electronic books: you can read a whole book on your screen! The first is a paid service; just log on with your SUNY Adirondack username/password if accessing from off-campus. Some offer podcasts and audiobooks.
- Ebrary's Academic Complete E-Book DatabaseMore than 50,000 titles from the world’s leading publishers; the largest multidisciplinary e-book database licensed to libraries throughout the world.
- Project GutenburgThe oldest producer of free electronic books on the Internet. This collection contains more than 15,000 eBooks. Most are older literary works that are in the public domain in the United States. All may be freely downloaded, read and redistributed for non-commercial use.
- SUNY Press E-Book CollectionA a collection of SUNY Press titles published between 2000 and 2006. Use is restricted to SUNY students, faculty and staff.
- Free E-BooksThis link from OnlineCourses.org lists many sites to download free books and book sections.
- E-Books from E-book.com.auFree site from digital book news site e-book.com.au of Australia, with many more downloadable books.
- LibriVoxFree audio books downloadable to your IPod. Books are classic novels, etc. that are in public domain; books are read by volunteers.
- Mann Library Book Talk PodcastsFrom Cornell University's Mann Library: "You can download audio or video files of specific events listed below, or you can subscribe to the Podcast and automatically receive new files when they are loaded to the site."
- More E-book CollectionsGeorge Mason University Libraries' page links to many more collection of free e-books, in the "Internet e-Book Libraries and Portals" box.





Loading...
