This is the "Books" page of the "Spanish Language and Culture" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
A LIFETIME OF LEARNING OPPORTUNITIES                   Apply | MyACC User verification is required | Make a Gift | Contact Us

Locations: Queensbury | Saratoga County | Online Distance Learning
Admin Sign In 

Spanish Language and Culture 

Find the best books, language Web sites and more!
Last update: Mar 08th, 2010 URL: http://libguides.sunyacc.edu/spanish  Print/Mobile Guide  RSS Updates

Books            Print/Mobile Page
  
 

Online Catalog Subjects

Welcome to the Spanish Language and Culture research guide!

Search for books with ACC Library's online catalog.

Subject headings like these work well to find books in the ACC Library:

Spanish language Dictionaries
Spanish American drama
Spaniards
Spanish language Grammar
Spanish American fiction
Spanish drama
Spanish language Software 
Spanish American literature
Spanish fiction
Spain -- Social life and customs
Spanish American poetry
Authors, Spanish American


- To find books on two overlapping topics, use the Boolean search word and:: Spain and history, for example.

- You may also use a wildcard ending to words (a technique called truncation) by replacing the end of the word with an asterisk. Example: Spanish and liter* will find literature, literary, etc.

- To find travel guides, use "guidebooks and"...the name of the country.

- You may also search countries as a subject: Mexico, Spain, etc., as well as the names of authors: Pablo Neruda, etc.

- The ACC Library owns more than a dozen books written in Spanish.

 

Circulating Books: a Selected List

Need more? See this page: Finding Books.

Lola PZ73 .L68 2005
The First Tortilla: a Bilingual Story
PZ73 .A4959 2007
Mis Papitos: Héroes de la Cosecha
PZ74.3 .C278 2005
Dime Traviesa, Qué Fruta es Esa?
PZ73 Dim 2004
Inés Tres Pies
PZ73 Ine 2004
Mamá Goose  a Latino Nursery Treasury - un Tesor de Rimas Infantiles
PZ74.3 .C65 2004
Richard Scarry’s Best Counting Book Ever = El Mejor Libro para Contar de Richard Scarry
PZ73.B47 Bes 2004
The Ugly Duckling = El Patito Feo
PZ73 .E66813 2004
501 Spanish Verbs
PC4271 .K38 2003
Pío Peep!: Traditional Spanish Nursery Rhymes
PZ74.3 .P52 2003
Qué te Picó la Hormiga de los Pies a la Barriga? PZ73 Que 2003
Schaum’s Outline of Spanish Vocabulary
PC4121 .S345 1997
El Gato Ensombrerado
PZ73.S477 Gat 1995
Si le das una Galletita a un Ratón
PZ73 .N86 1995
The Captive’s Tale = La Historia del Cautivo: Don Quixote, Part One, Chapters 39-41
PQ6323.A6 C3 1994
Grandmother’s Nursery Rhymes: Lullabies, Tongue Twisters, and Riddles from South America
PZ74.3 .G736 1994
Racismo PZ73.G78 Rac 1993
The Woman who Outshone the Sun: the Legend of Lucia Zenteno PZ73.Z3 Wom 1991
Spanish in the United States: Sociolinguistic Issues
PC4826 .S65 1990

 

Electronic Books

NetLibrary is a small collection of about 5000 full-text, electronic books. You may view the chapters of the books online. Books range from classic novels to recent books on technology and include reference books. ACC students, faculty and staff may search this from off-campus.

Project Gutenberg is the oldest producer of free electronic books on the Internet. This collection contains more than 15,000 eBooks. Most are older literary works that are in the public domain in the United States. All may be freely downloaded, read and redistributed for non-commercial use.

LibriVox  offers free audio books downloadable to your IPod. Books are classic novels, etc. that are in public domain; books are read by volunteers.

 
 

Spanish Language Dictionaries in the Reference Section

Find these books on the main floor of the ACC Library. They cannot be borrowed, but are always in the library to use.

An Analytical Dictionary of Nahuatl (Aztec/Spanish/English)
Ref. PM 4066 .K37 1983

The Facts On File Dictionary of Foreign Words and Phrases 
Ref. PE 1670 .M26 2002

A New Reference Grammar of Modern Spanish
Ref. PC 4112 .B88 1988

Oxford Spanish Dictionary
Ref. PC 4640 .O94 2003 

University of Chicago Spanish Dictionary: Spanish-English/English-Spanish 
Ref. PC 4640 .U5 1987 

 

Country Information - Reference Books and Webcites

Cambridge Encyclopedia of Latin America and the Caribbean
REF  F 1406 .C36 1992

Encyclopedia of Mexico
REF  F 1210 .E63 1997

Lands and Peoples (vol. 1-6 plus index)
REF  G 133 .L3 1997

Statesman's Year-book (country information)
REF   JA 51 .S7 (annual)

World Almanac
REF  AY 67.N5 W7 2003

Worldmark Encyclopedia of Cultures & Daily Life

REF  GN 333 .W67 1998


You may also want to use these two U.S. government sources for updated statistics, history and data:

CIA's The World Factbook


Library of Congress' Country Studies

 

Spanish Literature: a Selected List

Use search phrases such as "Authors, Spanish American" or an author's name, such as "Pablo Neruda"  to find books such as these:

Encyclopedia of World Writers Ref PN 451 .E55 2005

Greenwood Encyclopedia of Multiethnic American Literature Ref PS 153 .M56 G74 2005

Hispanic Literature of the United States Ref PS 153 .H56 K36 2003

Latin American Writers Ref PQ 7081.A1 L37 1989/2002

Latina and Latino Voices in Literature Ref PS 153 .H56 2003

The Poetry of Pablo Neruda PQ8097.N4 A2 2003

Six Masters of the Spanish Sonnet: Essays and Translations PQ6176 .B338 1993

Spanish Poetry of the Twentieth Century: Modernity and Beyond PQ6085 .D398 1994

Also consult the online research guide on researching Literature and Writers, for more reference books, literature research databases and Web sites.

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait