This is the "Books" page of the "Travel Destinations" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
A LIFETIME OF LEARNING OPPORTUNITIES                   Apply | MyACC User verification is required | Make a Gift | Contact Us

Locations: Queensbury | Saratoga County | Online Distance Learning
Admin Sign In 

Travel Destinations 

Best resources and sites for planning your travels!
Last update: Jul 16th, 2010 URL: http://libguides.sunyacc.edu/travel  Print/Mobile Guide   RSS Updates ShareThis

Books         Print/Mobile Page
  
 

Travel Guidebooks

Welcome to the library's travel research guide!

You may borrow any of the 500+ travel guidebooks at the SUNY Adirondack Library. Search the catalog for a country with the phrase “and guidebooks”. (Spell guidebooks as one word!) “Italy and guidebooks,” for instance, will display over 20 titles about Florence, Tuscany, Rome, etc.

 

Online catalog subjects

To find books in the SUNY Adirondack Library, copy and paste the subject headings below into the Book Catalog search box above.

Travel
Tourist trade
Guidebooks
Voyages and Travels
New York State
Paris
Greece
Travel Agents
Hospitality industry
Food service
New York State Description and Travel

 

Electronic Books

NetLibrary is a small collection of about 5000 full-text, electronic books. You may view the chapters of the books online. Books range from classic novels to recent books on technology and include reference books. ACC students, faculty and staff may search this from off-campus by logging in with a username/password.

Project Gutenberg is the oldest producer of free electronic books on the Internet. This collection contains more than 15,000 eBooks. Most are older literary works that are in the public domain in the United States. All may be freely downloaded, read and redistributed for non-commercial use.

LibriVox  offers free audio books downloadable to your IPod. Books are classic novels, etc. that are in public domain; books are read by volunteers.

 

Finding Books

Need more? See this page: Finding Books.

 
 

SUNY Adirondack Library Reference Books

Find these books on the main floor of the library. They cannot be borrowed, but are always in the library to use.

World Almanac and Book of Facts (facts and statistics about U.S. and the world: embassies, major events, monetary units, etc.)

REF. AY 67.N5 W7 (annual )

Do's and Don’ts Around the World : A Country Guide to Cultural and Social Taboos and Etiquette : Europe

REF. BJ 2137 .N82 1998

Columbia Gazeteer of the World  (geographical places and names)

REF. G 103.5 .C65 1998

Geo-Data: The World Geographical Encyclopedia (also online in Gale Virtual Reference Library, listed below) REF. G 103.5 .G36 2003

World Factbook (from CIA, also online at https://www.cia.gov/library/publications/the-world-factbook/index.html )

REF. G 122 .U56 (annual)

World Travel Guide (country data with info. on vaccines, embassies, currency, holidays, climate, sports, economy)

REF. G 153.4 .W67 2006

Career Opportunities in the Travel Industry

REF. G 155.7 .C65 2004

Literature of Travel & Exploration (3 vols.)

REF. G 465 .L565 2003

AAA Europe Road Atlas

REF. G 1797.2 .A33 2004

Worldmark Encyclopedia of Cultures and Daily Life (4 vols.)

REF. GN 333 .W67 1998

Encyclopedia of Food and Culture (3 vols.; also online in Gale Virtual Reference Library, listed below)

REF. GT 2850 .E53 2002

Encyclopedia of North American Eating & Drinking Traditions, Customs & Rituals

REF. GT 2853 .U5 G39 1996

Holidays, Festivals and Celebrations of the World  (2,000+ holidays in U.S. & world)

REF. GT 3925 .T46 1997

Encyclopedia of Recreation & Leisure in America (2 vols.)

REF. GV 53 .E53 2004

Encyclopedia of Leisure and Outdoor Recreation

REF. GV 11 .E55 2003

The Statesman's Year-book (detailed information on countries of the world)

REF. JA 51 .S7 (annual)

Hotel & Travel Index

REF. TX 907 .H59 2007

 

Atlases

World maps, city street maps, historical events and more are available in atlases in the “G 1000” call number area in the Reference Collection.

Large-format atlases are located in the atlas stand near the Reference Collection.

 

Demographics

Statistical Abstract of the United States (U.S. statistics) 
REF. HA 202 .A38 (annual)

Business Statistics of the United States    
REF. HC 101 .A13 2007

FedStats (Statistics from 100 federal agencies on cities, counties, states, U.S.)

 
Description

Loading  Loading content... please wait