This is the "Books" page of the "Veterinary Technology" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
A LIFETIME OF LEARNING OPPORTUNITIES                   Apply | MyACC User verification is required | Make a Gift | Contact Us

Locations: Queensbury | Saratoga County | Online Distance Learning
Admin Sign In 

Veterinary Technology 

Start your vet tech research here!
Last update: Feb 26th, 2010 URL: http://libguides.sunyacc.edu/vettech  Print/Mobile Guide  RSS Updates

Books            Print/Mobile Page
  
 

Vet Tech Books

Welcome to the ACC Library's research guide for veterinary technology!

Here are some of the ACC Library's books on this subject:

  • Laboratory procedures for veterinary technicians
    Call Number: SF 772.6 .L32 2002
    ISBN/ISSN: 0323013961
  • Fundamentals of veterinary clinical pathology
    Call Number: Ref. SF772.6 .S76 2002
    ISBN/ISSN: 081382561X
  • The Merck veterinary manual
    Call Number: Ref. SF748 .M47 1998
    ISBN/ISSN: 0911910298
  • Veterinary parasitology reference manual
    Call Number: Ref. SF810.A3 F67 2001
    ISBN/ISSN: 0813824192
 

Electronic Books

NetLibrary is a small collection of about 5000 full-text, electronic books. You may view the chapters of the books online. Books range from classic novels to recent books on technology and include reference books. ACC students, faculty and staff may search this from off-campus.

Project Gutenberg is the oldest producer of free electronic books on the Internet. This collection contains more than 15,000 eBooks. Most are older literary works that are in the public domain in the United States. All may be freely downloaded, read and redistributed for non-commercial use.

LibriVox  offers free audio books downloadable to your IPod. Books are classic novels, etc. that are in public domain; books are read by volunteers.

 
 

ACC Library Reference Books

Find these books on the main floor of the ACC Library. They cannot be borrowed, but are always in the library to use:

Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia (17 volumes) (Also in Gale Virtual Reference Library database, under Online Reference) - REF. QL 7 .G7813 2003

Color Atlas of Veterinary Anatomy - REF. QL 806 .V48 2002 Vol.3

Encyclopedia of Microbiology (4 volumes)  - REF. QR 9 .E53 2000

Bergey's Manual of Determinative Bacteriology - REF. QR 81 .A5 1994

Bergey's Manual of Systematic Bacteriology - REF. QR 81 .B46 2001

Mason's World Dictionary of Livestock Breeds, Types, and Varieties - REF. SF 105 .M34 2002

The New Encyclopedia of the Horse - REF. SF 285 .E345 2000

Dogs: the Ultimate Dictionary of Over 1,000 Dog Breeds - REF. SF 422 .M66 2002

Legacy of the Dog: The Ultimate Illustrated Guide to Over 200 Breeds - REF. SF 422 .Y35 1995

Encyclopedia of the Dog - REF. SF 422 .F64 1995

Legacy of the Cat: The Ultimate Illustrated Guide  - REF. SF 442 .S74 2001

Veterinary medicine: a textbook of the diseases of cattle, sheep, pigs, goats and horses - REF. SF 745 .R331 2000

Merck Veterinary Manual (also free on Web: http://merckvetmanual.com ) - REF. SF 748 .M47 1998

Spurgeon's Color Atlas of Large Animal Anatomy: The Essentials - REF. SF 761 .M35 1999

Illustrated Atlas of Clinical Equine Anatomy and Common Disorders of the Horse (Vol. 1-2) - REF. SF 765 .R54 1996

Colour Atlas of the Anatomy of Small Laboratory Animals: Rat, Mouse, Golden Hamster - REF. SF 761 .P93 1992

BSAVA manual of canine and feline clinical pathology - REF. SF 772.6 .B73 2005

Fundamentals of veterinary clinical pathology - REF. SF 772.6 .S76 2002

Veterinary parasitology reference manual - REF. SF 810.A3 F67 2001

Textbook of Veterinary Internal Medicine: Diseases of the Dog and Cat (Vol.1) - REF. SF 991 .T48 2000

 

Finding Books

Need more? See this page: Finding Books.

Want More information?

Consult these useful guides from Eastern Wyoming University's Library:

 

Reference/Instruction Librarian

Profile ImageJoyce Miller
Contact Info:
- Reference & Instruction Librarian
- Professor of Library Science
- Liaison Librarian for Science, Business, Travel, Distance Learning, Plattsburgh
[Photo: Joyce in Kenya last summer, surrounded by elephants!]
(518) 743-2200
Send Email

Subjects:
Library Instruction, Science, Business, Travel, Distance Learning, Plattsburgh Liaison Librarian

 

Online catalog subjects

Search for books with ACC Library's online catalog.

Subject headings like these work well to find books in the ACC Library:

Veterinary medicine
Horses
Livestock
Animals - identification
Pets
Cats
Microorganisms
Zoology - North America
Animals -Diseases
Cats- Diseases
Marine biology
Animal tracks
Animals - Folklore
Dogs - Diseases
Animal nutrition
Human-animal relationships
Animal rights
Dogs
Veterinary cardiology
Biochemistry
Animal welfare
Cattle
Veterinary anatomy

Bacteriology

You may also use the word "and" to combine two subjects in a search: veterinary and anatomy.

The Library of Congress' call number for Science books is Q. Others to know:

QH - Natural history  and biology
QL - Zoology
QR - Microbiology
SF  - Animal Culture

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait