This is the "Books" page of the "Women's Studies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
A LIFETIME OF LEARNING OPPORTUNITIES                   Apply | MyACC User verification is required | Make a Gift | Contact Us

Locations: Queensbury | Saratoga County | Online Distance Learning
Admin Sign In 

Women's Studies 

Start your research here for this multidisciplinary subject!
Last update: Jul 16th, 2010 URL: http://libguides.sunyacc.edu/womensstudies  Print/Mobile Guide   RSS Updates ShareThis

Books         Print/Mobile Page
  
 

Women and Literature Reference Books (selected)

Welcome to the Women's Studies research guide!

Find these books on the main floor of the
SUNY Adirondack Library. They cannot be borrowed, but are always in the library to use.

American Women Fiction Writers, edited and with an introduction by Harold Bloom.
Ref. PS 374.W6

Mainiero, Lina. American Women Writers: a Critical Reference Guide from Colonial Times to the Present
Ref. PS 147 .A4 VOL.1

American Women Writers: Bibliographical Essays, edited by Maurice Duke, Jackson R. Bryer, and M. Thomas Inge. 
Ref. Z 1229.W8 A44 1983

Asian-American Women Writers, edited and with an introduction by Harold Bloom.
Ref. PS 153.A84

A to Z of American Women Writers by Carol Kort
Ref. PS 147 .K67

Caribbean Women Writers, edited and with an introduction by Harold Bloom.
Ref. PR 9205.05 .C37

Contemporary Lesbian Writers of the United States: A Bio-Bibliographical Critical Sourcebook, edited by Sandra Pollack and Denise D. Knight. 
Ref. PS 153.L46

Contemporary Women Poets, introductory forwards by Elizabeth M. Mills, Diane Wakoski ; editor, Pamela L. Shelton. Reference Ref. PS151 .C67 1998
Partnow, Elaine T.

The Female Dramatist: Profiles of Women Playwrights from the Middle Ages to the Contemporary Times
Ref. PN471 .P37  1998

Modern Women Writers, Matthew J. Bruccoli and Judith S. Baughman, series editors; foreword by Mary Ann Wimsatt. 
Ref. Z 1231.F4

More Women in Literature: Criticism of the Seventies, by Carol Fairbanks. 
Ref. Z 6514.C5

Notable American Women: The Modern Period: A Biographical Dictionary, edited by Barbara Sicherman, Carol Hurd Green, with Ilene Kantrov, Harriette Walker.
Ref. CT 3260 .N573 1983

Alexander, Christine. The Oxford Companion to the Brontës, Christine Alexander and Margaret Smith. 
Ref. PR 4167.A3 O94 2003

The Oxford Companion to Women's Writing in the United States, editors in chief, Cathy N. Davidson, Linda Wagner-Martin; editors, Elizabeth Ammons ... [et al.].
Ref. PS 147 .O94

The Palgrave Macmillan Dictionary of Women's Biography, original compiler and editor, Jennifer S. Uglow assistant editor on first edition (for science, mathematics, and medicine), Frances Hinton. 4th ed., revising editor on third and fourth editions, Maggy Hendry. 
Ref. CT 3202 .P26 2005

The Toni Morrison Encyclopedia, edited by ElizabethAnn Beaulieu. 
Ref. PS 3563.O8749 Z913 2003

Peterson, Jane T. Women Playwrights of Diversity: A Bio-Bibliographical Sourcebook, Jane T. Peterson and Suzanne Bennett. 
Ref. PS 338.W6

A Zora Neale Hurston Companion by Robert W. Croft
Ref. PS 3515.U789 Z464

 
 

Circulating Books: a Selected List

  • Cover ArtWe will be heard : women’s struggles for political power in the United States / Jo Freeman. - Freeman, Jo
    Call Number: HQ 1236.5.U6 F746 2008
    ISBN/ISSN: 0742556077
  • Cover ArtThe sexual paradox: men, women and the real gender gap - Pinker, Susan
    Call Number: HD 6060.6 .P56 2008
    ISBN/ISSN: 0743284704
  • Cover ArtTaking sides. Clashing views in human sexuality.
    Call Number: HQ 18.U5 T35 2008
    ISBN/ISSN: 0073397199
 

Reference Books on Women's Studies (selected list)

The Arab Human Development Report 2005: Towards the Rise of Women in the Arab World
Ref  HN766.A85 A73 2005

Chronology of Women’s History
Ref. HQ 1121 .O47 1994 

Contemporary Women Artists
Ref. N 8354 .C66 1999

Encyclopedia of American Women in Business: from Colonial Times to the Present
Ref  HD6054.4.U6 K753 2005

Encyclopedia of Women and Gender
Ref. HQ 1115 .E43 2001

Encyclopedia of Women in the Renaissance: Italy, France, and England
Ref  HQ1148 .W67 2007

Encyclopedia of Women’s Folklore and Folklife  Ref GR470 .E63 2009

Female Genital Mutilation: a Joint WHO/UNICEF/UNFPA Statement
Ref. GN 484 .F48 1997

Feminist Chronicles, 1953-1993
Ref. HQ 1420 .C33 1993

From Convent to Concert Hall: a Guide to Women Composers
Ref ML82 .F76 2003

A History of Women in the United States: State-by-State Reference
Ref. HQ 1410 .H58 2004

International Encyclopedia of Women and Sports
Ref. GV 709 .I58 2001

Native American Women: a Biographical Dictionary
Ref. E 98.W8 B38 1993

The New Harvard Guide to Women’s Health
Ref. RA 778 .C216 2004

The Nonsexist Word Finder: a Dictionary of Gender-free Usage
Ref. PE 1689 .M23 1987

Notable Hispanic American Women
Ref. E 184.S75 N68 1993

The Quotable Woman: the First 5,000 Years
Ref. PN 6081.5 .Q65 2001

Women and Science : an Annotated Bibliography
Ref. Z 7963.S3 O35 1996

Women During the Civil War: an Encyclopedia  Ref  E628 .H37 2007

Women in the Middle Ages: an Encyclopedia
Ref HQ1143 .W643 2004

Women in Prison: a Reference Handbook
Ref. HV 9471 .B365 2003

Women’s Issues
Ref. HQ 1115 .W65 1997

World at Risk: a Global Issues Sourcebook
Ref JZ1242 .W67 2002

 
 

Online catalog subjects

Search for books with SUNY Adirondack Library's Book Catalog box above.

Try a simple subject search first, above. To edit your results, click the catalog's Basic Search option and try searching your root subject term with the "Subject Begins With" option to browse the subject index and locate the numerous subheadings:

Women:  Women and authors, Women and writing, Women and literature, Women's rights, Women's history, Women's issues  etc

Gender

Sex

Fem*  (Use an asterisk to truncate the word, to search various forms: female, femininity, feminist, feminism)

If you have a specific writer in mind, just enter the author's name in the search box.  If you cannot find your specific author, regeneralize your search to "women and literature", then search in the indexes of the books for your author's name.  

 

Electronic Books

NetLibrary is a small collection of about 5000 full-text, electronic books. You may view the chapters of the books online. Books range from classic novels to recent books on technology and include reference books. SUNY Adirondack students, faculty and staff may search this from off-campus.

Project Gutenberg is the oldest producer of free electronic books on the Internet. This collection contains more than 15,000 eBooks. Most are older literary works that are in the public domain in the United States. All may be freely downloaded, read and redistributed for non-commercial use.

LibriVox  offers free audio books downloadable to your IPod. Books are classic novels, etc. that are in public domain; books are read by volunteers.

 
Description

Loading  Loading content... please wait